Weekend Gaming Update

SwordAxe!  Why am I not allowed to use this weapon?

SwordAxe! Why am I not allowed to use this weapon?

I actually had a busy and productive weekend, gaming and otherwise.  Here’s what I was playing:

Lord of the Rings Online

Our kin was abuzz about the revelation that there will be a new class this year, and while there are popular theories, there was no consensus (in our kin or in the larger community) as to what it will be.  Ranger and Beorning seems to be two of the more common guesses.

I did a bit more of my Lore-master’s epic story while thinking about what it might be like to level up a new character all over again.  True, Turbine’s revamping several zones and that will definitely make it easier, but… whew.  It’s a daunting prospect, and one that I’m only willing to undertake if the new class is sufficiently compelling.  I can only imagine what the lowbie levels will look like as everyone rolls the same class.

The Walking Dead Season Two

I’m on week three of a deliberate push to kick my weight loss back in gear with a three-pronged assault: No going to fast food (even for “healthy” options), no artificial sweeteners (sigh… goodbye coffee), and a daily round of exercise biking.  The latter is something I’m looking forward to each day, if only that it’s the one time that I allow myself to play a bit more of chapter two in the Walking Dead Season Two.  There’s something about being interactive with the game that makes me forget that I’m exercising in a way that watching a TV show or reading a book doesn’t.  My concern is when I get to the end of the game — I’m going to need to get a few more on deck.

Guild Wars 2

While every other MMO seemed to be having some sort of bonus weekend, GW2 was trucking along.  I guess their “every two weeks” thing isn’t applying to the season one finale here, because we’re heading into week three.  Apparently there’s going to be a “small epilogue” tomorrow, but I’m still waiting for that feature release that’s supposed to come after.

Anyway, I did a lot of smaller activities: I ran the Lion’s Arch fight a few times (and once through successfully), I did my dailies, and I fiddled a bit around with my lowbie Mesmer because a few guildmates goaded me/encouraged me to stick with it with the promise that the class blossoms a lot later than the others.  I believe “learn to play” was tossed around.

The Secret World

I joined up with my friend MJ to do a couple of scenarios on Saturday evening to get those bonus oreos.  I wish I had been running them more, because man, we were rolling in rewards.  I’m within striking distance of getting a purple shotgun and I netted several more augments as well.

We ran elite duos with three people and did fairly well.  I think we ended up with 5/12 in Mansion and 14/15 in Hotel.  It helped that we had friendly snipers in Hotel and no super-annoying hinderances.

All in all, good times!

6 thoughts on “Weekend Gaming Update

  1. Say goodbye to coffee due to loss of artificial sweeteners? No Syp, this is the time to say HELLO to coffee. Brew up a good pot, drink it black, and savour every moment.

  2. Gw2 did have a bonus weekend, but it was in PvP rank and glory. Did play a few games, and got to rank 10 and earned a nice, shiny deer finisher, at least I can stop using the cutsey rabbit finisher now.

    Don’t think I could level another class in Lotro, and these days I think the Turbine solution will be ‘Get ahead of the pack, boost your to level 50 for the low price of $49.99′. I was going to run a LM through revamped Trollshaws and Misty Mtns, but I might hold off on that for now.

    Had thought to do some scenarios in TSW, but I’ve already got my Tokyo pass, and wasn’t really compelled to grind out anything else.

  3. Oddly my kin had same discussion with the same contenders…cannot see much difference between Hunter and Ranger my self… and YES cant wait to see flocks of “____(insert new class name here)” running around LOTRO…

    Maybe there will be some restrictive mechanism in place to restrict numbers…

    New class opens up only if you solo (defeat) a flaming Balrog while falling down a chasm…er LOTRO WHITE anyone?

Leave a Reply

