Guild Wars 2: Stop to smell the events

r1Not having a current living story event going on in Guild Wars 2 is somewhat of a blessing, because the pressure is off to be somewhere and do something specific.  Instead, I’m ping-ponging between my Ranger and Necromancer doing map completion, which is my favorite activity in this game by far.

One thing I’m challenging myself to do is to get out of the run-run-run mentality of trying to finish maps as quickly as possible.  I already have a full 80, there’s no rush.  Instead, I’m exploring around a lot, pausing to listen to NPC conversations, and most importantly doing every event I come across.  I think I missed a lot of events the first time through, especially ones that chain off of each other, and that’s a shame because some tell really interesting little stories.

Last night I was doing the events near the lodge in Wayfarer Foothills that has all of the kids and the snowball fights.  I triggered one that had a kid ask me to hunt a ram for him, and he took the head to his dad who turned it into a decoration for the exterior of the lodge.  Other than the head wildly changing shape depending if it was on the live creature, in the boy’s hands, or on the wall, it was neat to see.  But better were the idiot kids who started a bear ritual with honey on the floor, which then summoned all manner of bears and caused a kid stampede inside the place.

r2Silly as these might be, they make impressions.  I remember them.  And even though they’re not always optimal, I usually don’t regret doing them afterward.  I was so chipper, in fact, that I spent some time refining my snowball-throwing skills instead of waiting for more mobs to kill to complete my heart.

I don’t know if ArenaNet has given up on adding new small events into the game (we’ll have to see if we get a new normal zone, probably), but I hope not.  They add color and flavor and movement in small but important ways.

7 thoughts on “Guild Wars 2: Stop to smell the events

  1. I just did that those very events last time I logged in. :) I felt pretty much the exact same way.

  2. I completely agree. :) I logged in yesterday for a few hours, popped off to Divinity’s Reach to find the auction house, etc. and ended up wandering off to the marked tavern and watching the dialogue between the group of adventurers (featuring Rox, et al) which was lovely, then wandered off to Bloodtide Coast where I fought off ghost pirates for some archaeologists, stomped on crab holes for some Quaggan, then found some trapped Quaggan I absolutely had to stop to save. I never know what I’m going to end up doing in that game when I venture out. Love this dyanamic content trend. :)

  3. Oh! I remember this event chain! One night while doing my dailies, I hung out there when I realized the kids were up to trouble and watched the whole thing unfold. Wish devs would do more of this and less of living story content, but I know it won’t be.

  4. Yup. If it’s one thing that GW2 absolutely does right, it’s create a world filled with details. The shear amount of detail is completely overwhelming, and really gives a true feeling of exploration. I love chaining events together, too (until finally one event is just too difficult to complete by yourself, and there is nobody else around… mostly because they’re all at whatever the living story firehose is pointed at, then it gets a little disheartening). There was one I found in Mt Maelstrom where you had to beat a tougher-than-normal Veteran, and a portal opened up. Entering it took you into a gorgeous “Lost valley” where there was a complex 4 part jumping and fighting puzzle. Stunning.

  5. Do yourself a favor and visit the peaceful ogres of Degun Shun in Blazeridge Steppes. Emotionally traumatizing, that one is. I also recommend traveling throughout Ascalon and especially doing every Charr event you see -many of them are hilarious.

    The sad thing is, almost all this kind of content was made pre-launch, apart from a small flurry a few months in, and as far as I can tell there are no plans to add any more.

  6. ArenaNet copped a lot of criticism for their dynamic events, They’re not dynamic! They repeat too often! The rewards are crap!

    But I gotta say, I have been able to get more enjoyment from just wandering around a zone just.. adventuring! in GW2 than in any other MMORPG I can think of. I think if you just DO stop and “smell the events”, they are genuinely fun.

  7. I really agree with the sentiment of this wholeheartedly. When we were still playing we mostly did this, wandered around and took in the sights (and smells). It’s a shame the devs didn’t stick to their original plan of adding and replacing these events as they expanded the world. It could have been a very different Tyria from the check-list oriented one we have now.

Leave a Reply

