Guild Wars 2: It’s a bobbly world

bobbl1I hope everyone had a good April 1st!  I was off doing medical stuff for most of the day so I missed really checking out all of the goofs and gags, but I caught up a bit later on.  The Guild Wars 2 community was treated to a game full of bobbleheads, from characters to NPCs to animals.  It wasn’t Super Adventure Box, but it was definitely fun in its own right.

My kids absolutely loved the bobbleheads, especially when I made them wiggle.  That’s the great thing about kids, how they can derive such enjoyment out of silly things.  I was certainly amused too, particularly after pulling out all of my minipets to see what they looked like with enlarged noggins.

All I know is that there’s going to be a lot of broken necks in the game today, or at least a world full of neck braces and moaning going on.

On a different tack, some of my guildies noted that the reset of the monthly achievements is only giving us 15 days to do them due to the upcoming feature pack.  I’m not going to stress out doing them, but I would really like to get my Mesmer as high up in levels as possible.  It would stink to, say, get to level 60, get access to the grandmaster traits, and then lose those come the patch.  I’m currently level 22, so I don’t know how feasible it is to make it to 80 in two weeks with a couple of play hours a day, but I’ll make a good show of it and see how far I can go.

3 thoughts on “Guild Wars 2: It’s a bobbly world

  1. I was making a good clip of a level per play session not long ago. 20 might be rough to do in two weeks, but it can be done. :)

  2. There’s a thing somewhere in the many Feature Pack “blogs” that covers the Monthly Achievement issue. Helpfully, although I remember reading it, I don’t remember what it said…

  3. You only need to do two monthlies, due to the 15 day thing.

    And I bet if you’ve already clicked on the grandmaster trait book and unlocked it, they should stay unlocked. Not certain on that, but perhaps getting to 60 might be a more encouraging target. :)

    1-1.5h a level is a good average clip for wandering around in the open world. I seem to remember an early blog post by ArenaNet where they were estimating 1.5h a level as their target.

    You could probably push that further and faster by doing things like always having food and wrench on for the bonus xp, killing yellow mobs that tend to be untouched by most, finding and repeating certain dense dynamic event chains, doing dungeons, getting lucky in WvW, or *wince* champion-training for a while. Or crafting and using tomes of knowledge like many seeking a shortcut do.

    But I’d be careful about too much power-leveling. I learned in another game long ago that it was the best way to ruin any further interest in the leveling game because you get so used to that speed, and if/when it gets nerfed, bam, one just can’t face the grind anymore. :/

Leave a Reply

