What I’ve been playing on tablets

BoomBeachPreview-7I’ve been doing a little more reading as of late which has cut into my tablet gaming time, but there are a few titles that I did want to mention.

A few weeks ago I picked up Out There, which is sort of a choose your own adventure/resource manager space roguelike.  Unlike FTL, there’s no combat, but instead a near endless stream of decisions to make in every new system, mostly regarding whether the risk is worth the payout for materials needed to keep your spacecraft going.  I applaud the approach and the visuals, but there’s something that didn’t quite click here.  Constant resource gathering was tedious and not visually appealing, and I didn’t connect with my ship at all.

But speaking of FTL, the new version of the game came out for iPad last night, and even though I own it on the computer, it was a no-brainer to pick it up.  I’m still getting used to the different controls, but I’m pretty giddy to have it on a portable platform.  I always thought it would be a game that lended itself well to a tablet and I think that it will do so.

So what else?  I got the director’s cut of Broken Sword to be the next adventure title that I play while exercising.  I don’t know much about it but everyone seems to speak quite highly of it, so we’ll see.

And while I never got into Clash of Clans, that studio’s follow-up with Boom Beach has been pretty involving.  You get a base on an island that you build up over time, using it to stage amphibious landings on other islands (there’s a lite-WWII feel with it, but it’s all cartoony).  You fight against both players and the computer to “free” islands and gather in more resources.  There’s a time-limited F2P mechanic going on, so it’s really something I just pick up for five minutes here and there, but I love approaching every landing like it’s a puzzle — how do I get my troops to victory while losing the fewest of them possible.

It looks like Hearthstone should hit the iPad very soon, as it’s soft-launched in a few countries.  This is terrific news as I’ve been eagerly waiting that transition.  I haven’t played Hearthstone in a long while, mostly because while I’m on the computer I’d rather be doing or playing other games, but I can totally see spending a few sessions a day tinkering with this on a tablet.

3 thoughts on “What I’ve been playing on tablets

  1. Being in Australia, I have access to Hearthstone on the iPad, and let me tell you, it’s grand. Soooo well suited to the device!!

Leave a Reply

