On deck and happy about it

fishingAs with any major MMO launch, there’s a good portion of people out there playing Elder Scrolls Online and seeminly enjoying it.  And I’m happy for them, but I am not part of that crowd.  Even when you don’t have a grudge against a new game, the fact that you’re not playing it can make you feel a bit left out of the experience and conversation.  That’s what leads one to spending $60 on Final Fantasy XIV and playing it for two days.  Not that this comes from personal experience.

But it’s certainly not a terrible time to be a non-ESO MMO player.  I’m actually really excited about several big drops that are happening in the next few weeks.  It makes sense that all of this is happening now, since it’s spring and many MMOs have finally started to churn out the next major releases following the lull of the holidays and winter.

This week we’ll be getting a new mission pack in The Secret World and CAN YOU TELL THAT I AM THRILLED?  Because I am.  Thrilled.  Seriously, it’s been since last July since we’ve had any new missions in TSW (and I’m not counting the scenarios here).  Even though Funcom’s punting Tokyo until next month, as least we’ll be getting four new investigation missions to tide us over.  Man I’ve been so hungry for new content in this game.  I can’t think of another MMO where “new quests” is such a major selling point.

Then there’s the double header of Guild Wars 2′s April Feature Pack and LOTRO’s Update 13 coming out on April 14th and 15th.  I’m going to be in anguish that week trying to play one while wanting to also be in the other.  That’s a good problem to have.

Hearthstone might come out on tablet this month too and I think we’re on the verge of getting The Wolf Among Us episode 3.  My plate is incredibly full, and that’s not including Trove and Landmark which I need to be playing but, really, what time?

9 thoughts on “On deck and happy about it

  1. Don’t worry, you’re not alone. I tried the ESO beta and knew it just wasn’t for me. It’s a little odd to not be a part of all the excitement swirling around a launch, and I wish them well. But I’m learning how to deal with being absent at a launch of a game that just didn’t speak to me. That’s okay, honestly. I have plenty of other stuff to play!

    Good to hear about new TSW content! I really need to jump back into that game and finish the main story missions. I’m so slow. :(

  2. That’s one of the great things about gaming. Even if you skip a launch or two (which I do all the time), there is ALWAYS something new to do anyway. I’ve never been big on following crowds in the first place, the whole “it’s popular, so you HAVE to have it to feel included” thing never passes the smell test. I feel included simply because I play games, not because I’m playing the latest specific games.

    Gaming is the only genre I can think of where the quality of an item improves over time, but the price drops. Once you realize that early adopters are only paying the high price to simply be included as part of the initial stampede, you learn to only open your wallet when paying to be a part of that stampede seems worth it.

  3. The ESO hype train has also left me behind. I never played any of the past games, and its launching with a sub fee pretty much killed any interest I might have had in it.

    That’s all right. I’m still having fun with D3, and as you note, TSW has some cool stuff coming up.

  4. I actually thought ESO looked really fun in the one beta weekend I had, and I’d still like to try it some time, but I agree, as someone who actually enjoys an existing MMO… no time. Big SWTOR patch tomorrow, yay!

  5. Are you sure Heathstone hasn’t already launched on tablets? Because I have it on mine right now and have already played a few games (and I live in Australia, so if anything I should be getting it after you, not before).

  6. I hated the two ESO beta’s I was a part of and only got talked into buying it by my two close friends. I’m glad I did. The game is nothing like the beta and surprisingly I can’t get enough of it. To those that only played the beta you still might not like it but if you are a MMO fan you should check it out, you might be in for a good time.

Leave a Reply

