WildStar: A new hope and a whole lotta patch notes

wildEven though the game is offline and in between beta weekends, WildStar dropped a motherlode of patch notes yesterday for its “UI 2.0″ update.  There was a lot in it, but probably the most notable for me was the expected implementation of the much sleeker UI and (surprise!) more character creation options, including new hair styles and other body types.

The last one caught a lot of people off-guard; I don’t think Carbine had even mentioned that it was going to do other body types in the game.  I’m very, very glad the studio made a point to do so, because the current proportions weren’t everyone’s cup of tea and in fact was irking some greatly.

Of course, we don’t know what or how many body types are going to be in the game until it boots back up for the next beta weekend, but I will certainly be logging in to check them out and probably come up with new saved templates for my characters’ looks.  Here’s hoping for somewhat more realistic proportions and death to wasp-waists in some of the options.

As of late, I’m definitely leaning toward playing a Medic as my main, although the race is still up for debate.  I will roll Mordesh if I can make one that looks good to me, but if not, Human it is.  Also ping-ponging between Settler and Scientist paths.

5 thoughts on “WildStar: A new hope and a whole lotta patch notes

  1. The Medic is so much fun (at least, the limited time I had on beta weekend with it) and early non-reliable stats show them as one of the lesser popular classes in prior beta weekends (which surprised me). Of course, beta stats mean little, and there was some pretty big Medic DPS nerf-age in that patch. Healing with them at lower levels in PVP was a blast, though.

  2. I’m hoping there will be some better female body types. I wanted to try out female Mechari and Draken due to awesome faces, but their waits were so ridiculously tiny that I couldn’t stick with it. It was like playing a head balancing on a toothpick.

  3. I really enjoyed playing a rock-guy Medic two weeks ago. I’ve been so busy that I haven’t had a chance to look at the latest patch notes… this makes me eager to do so!

  4. Not too sure about some of the changes yet.

    My main issue is the new stun breakout mechanic which doesnt bode well for my current key bind set up on my belkin n52te.

    Also the Warrior has been heavily nerfed so Im a bit scared to see just how badly.

    Those two things apart looks like a fairly solid and rather lengthy patch. Roll on next weekend so we can try it out.

  5. Props to Carbine for the extra customization. There were many on the forums who were asking for it, but not really expecting it until some time after launch at the earliest, yet here they’ve gone and surprised us all by giving us what we wanted much sooner. Can’t wait to chew through the new options and make my gang of Chua(s?).
    Personally I’m ping-ponging between the Medic and the Engineer. While I usually prefer to heal, and the Medic is pretty fun to play, I also love Engineers whenever I can play one—they were my favourite class in Tabula Rasa, and my first class in Warhammer Online and Guild Wars 2 (and pretty fun in TF2 as well). And the Engineer seems to be done really well in Wildstar, what with their heavy mech armour, the big guns and the stable of bots…win!

Leave a Reply

