Space Quest: Planetfall

(This is part of my journey playing through Space Quest. You can follow the entire series on the Nostalgia Lane page.)

pf1Reload.  I guess this is my “lucky” day, since my escape pod is actually going to land somewhere instead of floating out into deep space forever.

pf2I remember being so despondant when this happened back when I was a kid, because I was so happy to have my own spaceship in a computer game.  I thought that maybe I was going to be allowed to fly it around or something, but nope, I just crash-land mere seconds after taking off.

pf3Fortunately, there’s a survival kit in here that I can plunder.  Dehydrated water still cracks me up.  I’m very easy to amuse.

pf4“You have just become a vertical meal for the local welcoming committee.”

Oof.  This planet is not kidding around.  Well, it is, but in a deadly way.

pf5Kerona is not the most beautiful of planets, but rather a desolate desert full of people-eating worms.  If you would like to make a Tatooine reference, please do so now.  The game will not stop you.

pf6pf7In addition to death by worm, Roger bites it by falling to his demise and being blown up by a Sarien spider droid.  All within three screens.  This is what we called “replay value” back in 1986, kids.

pf8With the spider droid looking on in amazement, Roger finds a super-secret elevator and takes a trip down it.  What wonders — and brutal punishments — will this new area contain?  Tune in next time, faithful readers!

2 thoughts on “Space Quest: Planetfall

  1. This and Police Quest were my first multi gaming situations! Friends and I would huddle around the screen and try to sort out the puzzles. While dying repeatedly. I am looking forward to the rest of this series =)

Leave a Reply

