Hitting the 80 wall in Guild Wars 2

Today or tomorrow I’ll most likely ding 80 on my third character in Guild Wars 2, my Necromancer.  I’m actually kind of dreading it and have had my mind turn to flights of fancy involving either other alts or sticking only to my Engineer main.

Even in a game that does a lot to lessen the impact, there’s still a wall that one hits when you reach the level cap.  Sure, there’s plenty left to do: mapping, crafting, earning endless new skill points, making money, living story progress, achievement hunting, dungeon running, and so forth.  But 80 signifies the end of part of your character’s growth, mostly in power and trait points.  OK, I guess it’s primarily a psychological block in this game, but I still can’t help but feel that a level 80 is less “fun” to play than one that still has the level mountain to climb.

It could also be that the 80 wall offers a convenient excuse to sit back and take a long look at what I’ve been doing.  Do I like the Necro?  I do… but I see its flaws, too.  I always yearn for something new and different, after having spent so much time with just this one character.  Will it really be worth it to fully map the world on this character past 80?  Do I want to spend my laurels and crafting mats getting this character geared up to ascended?

I’m not sure.  In a perverse way, I kind of want to roll a new Engineer even though I’d be trotting over the same ground that I’ve already done with my main.  That’s part of the effects that the 80 wall has on me.

4 thoughts on “Hitting the 80 wall in Guild Wars 2

  1. I just got my first character to 80 and feel the same way. I’m having a lot of fun in WvW and working toward some new gear for now, but it’s also really tempting to pick up one of my other characters and try a new playstyle.

  2. Be warned… EQN will have no levels. GW2 real gaming starts at level 80.

  3. “GW2 real gaming” does so not start at level 80. GW2 real gaming is leveling an endless series of characters TO 80. I’m on my tenth and it isn’t going to stop there. And we have no more idea of EQNext gameplay than we do what’s on the dark side of the moon. Less, probably.

    That said, being 80 is basically no different. You don’t stop gaining xp, you keep on dinging, it feels pretty nearly the same. I don;t know why they didn’t just let the level numbers keep on rolling.

  4. I do know what you mean. When i hit the 60 level (max atm in Rift) on my necromancer mage I hit the wall and havent touch her since…. Its sad really :/ Iv been levelling my alt, or my new “main” (i hope!) instead. So this new main will be max level tomorrow. How will that feel? I hope it will feel good this time but im a bit sceered I feel the same kind of emptiness as last time… Thanks for a great blog xo
    (Tho Rift will raise the level cap after summer to 65 :)

Leave a Reply

