System Shock 2: Xerxes, why you no like me?

(This is part of my journey playing through System Shock 2. You can follow the entire series on the Nostalgia Lane page.)

ss1As I continue my explorations of the deck, I come upon the ship’s AI, Xerxes.  I can imagine that face haunting one’s dreams even before hell descended upon the Von Braum.  Now?  Now he’s a pleasant chap who is of no use at all because that would be too easy.  For reasons unexplained thus far, he’s on the side of the hybrids but is a little irked at lil’ ol’ me running around his innards.  Thus, I have to blast every security camera right quick or else he’ll call some of his mumbling friends to take care of me.

Also?  He’s got machine guns all over the place.  I’m not exactly sure why the military thought that high-powered gatling guns would be needed in a pump room, but since it’s got two of them, I’m guessing that contractors were involved.

ss2In one of the store rooms I find a whole bunch of chemical cannisters.  The game then informs me that I could be doing some sort of “research” and crafting, which is not really how I want to be spending my time whilst trying to escape the ship of the damned.

I was reading an article this past week that mentioned how System Shock’s complexity actually detracts from the experience, and I have to concur.  It’s like an FPS but it’s not, and the not parts aren’t especially engaging.  For example, I’m kind of stuck on this deck, lost without an idea where to go or what to do.  I’ve found several locked doors and ways to die, but no clear path forward.  The map, by the way, sucks.

ss3The occasional ghost and PDA disk (the latter of which look like those old zip drives) spice up the story and do a great job giving me an idea of what was going on with the crew before all of this went down.

ss4Because my life needed more thrills, I’m attacked by a scalped monkey.  Why doesn’t anyone on this ship like meeeee?

I’m primarily using my psi powers for attack, although I’m a little more than concerned what to do when my mind juice runs out.  I’ve only found one psi hypo and the vending machines have them pretty pricey.  Since I can’t use pistols, my backup is a wrench.

ss5Remember what now?  Did that guy paint that with his own blood, or did one of the hybrids do it on a particularly boring shift?

2 thoughts on “System Shock 2: Xerxes, why you no like me?

  1. The graffiti is a reference to the event described in the little intro movie of SS2, which is a summary of what happened in SS1.

    As to who wrote it… good question. =P

  2. Ahh … memories. One of my big recollections of system shock 2 is that you never have enough ammo. It is one of the ways the game maintains tension.

Leave a Reply

