The Secret World: Flipping worlds

Yeti-2014-06-09-22-44-17The lesson here is that when you are going up a stairwell and you turn the corner to see a flaming boulder rolling down on you, you’ve got to both run away and frantically hit the screenshot key without peeing your pants in fear.

So last night our Secret World group started digging into Tokyo proper.  Man, it’s great to be in a new zone — urbanized and crawling with Filth even so.  I didn’t have time to really poke around, but I’ve seen enough to know that there’s been a good deal of attention paid to it much like the other regions.

Ten Tentacles and I teamed up to run a couple of side missions while we got the hang of the new AEGIS system.  Basically, all of the new mobs now have a second health bar in the form of a specific shield (demonic, psychic, or cybernetic) that you have to wear down by flipping through a new specific buff that allows you to target one of these three shield types.  Oh, and you have to level these buffs up by grinding mobs.

Truly, AEGIS sucks and is there to be nothing more than a time sink — busy work for those who blow through the Tokyo quests too fast.  The devs have made noise about how this adds another layer of complexity and challenge to fights, but it doesn’t.  It just makes fights longer and more annoying, not more strategic and interesting.  As much as I love TSW, I am concerned how Funcom seems to love bloating the combat system with useless systems (augments, anyone?).  I’d trade it all for a traditional MMO combat system/class setup in a heartbeat.

Fortunately, we play despite the combat system, not because of it.  After the side missions were done, we got into the main story mission that had us tracking down a many-toed demon through a sewer system that was apparently designed by Lucifer himself.  This was an interesting misson, balancing combat with platforming, trap evasion, and a cool mechanic that had us flipping between the regular world and a “red” world, kind of like Silent Hill or A Link to the Past.  The portal hopping was smooth and offered up a lot of memorable moments, such as the aforementioned flaming boulder run.

It was certainly a lot better to run it as a group than solo, just to keep the combat portion short.  I got to say that between WildStar, Guild Wars 2, and The Secret World, I am becoming the master of telegraphs.  I just wish TSW and WildStar had an auto-attack going on while I am doing all of the fancy footwork.

4 thoughts on “The Secret World: Flipping worlds

  1. Your reaction to the Aegis system is quite the same i had when experiencing it for the first time. I also saw it just as an artificial way to slow me down. By now i started to reconsider some principles of designing my setup. A new deck was created yesterday (while i was at my girls webradio show on RFG) but it ended late at night and i just had to drop to bed before testing it. Thus testing will be done in a little, but i am optimistic. (At the same time my new setup includes 5 actives and 4 passives which i never used before. They just did not make sense in my building philosophy up to now, but might turn things in my favour with the new system. )I guess i can tell more in a few hours. :)

  2. I think I could get more excited about Aegis system if the components were more freely available to experiment with. Except getting through the slog, ends up with a fairly shallow system. Get 2 sets of 3 controllers, the only ones that are worthwhile to me are the ones that have 20% to do bonus Aegis damage, level them all up, then slot 4 capacitors to boost the damage done, which are too expensive to buy right now on the AH, then there is one other type of component (can’t remember what it is called) requiring QL 2 to slot but the bonuses they provided didn’t seem that interesting. I’m going to play through one more time and that will be enough for me for the moment.

  3. I like AEGIS itself. It’s a nice little way to continue ramping up challenge and progression without just numerically buffing everything like other MMOs do. I just wish it wasn’t such an abominable grind.

  4. Hmm. Test results of my new setup were sobering. Not working the way i planed. Too bad.

Leave a Reply

