WildStar: Grinding and hospitality

ewwAmidst my continuing frustration that WildStar keeps becoming absolutely unplayable on a couple different computers and locations that I’ve tried (the frame rate drops to zero and the game doesn’t respond for seconds at a time), I have gotten in a little more time and wanted to share two positive experiences.

The first was the decision to switch one of my gathering professions from mining to salvaging.  I’m just not a fan of having to switch tools from my inventory between mining and relic nodes, and since I have an elite relic plot at my house, mining was the choice to go.  The idea is that by replacing it with scavenging, at least I’m getting more mats from mobs without having to do anything additional at all.

But since my scavenging skill was zero, I had to head back to Algaroc to grind it up.  I picked out an area with loads of animal mobs and starting running around like the psychotic engineer I am.  Now that I’ve outleveled the area and have relatively good gear, the mobs go down in the blink of an eye.  And you know what?  I had a ton of fun just running and grinding mobs for a good hour or so.  It was relaxed, I leveled up scavenging to tier 2, and I got plenty of money and loot.  I even got a tribal mask and medical station for my house.

I played smart, too, by activating one of the challenges in the region, since I was already grinding on those mobs.  The reward was just random consumables, but hey, more stuff for the same effort is always welcome.

The second positive experience is just how much I’m liking the housing zone chat.  It’s a small but brilliant idea, to have a dedicated chat channel to everyone currently on a housing plot.  I’ve seen and experienced a lot of visitation invites, and it definitely makes it far more of a social experience than you’d think from instanced housing.  People are popping over to Pillowtown regularly now and I love seeing them come by.

In my rocket house I’m in the process of building a second floor loft.  The placement tools are fine but sometimes finicky, and getting objects to link to each other doesn’t always work for me.  Even so, I’ve built my staircase and part of the second story floor.  I’ll probably move my bedroom up there and make it a den while keeping the first floor a fun recreation area.

7 thoughts on “WildStar: Grinding and hospitality

  1. Wait, you can actually visit other people’s instanced housing in Wildstar?

    Really.

    I wonder if Bioware is going to put that into place in SWTOR’s housing.

  2. Do you mean Survivalist? I see they skin but also use a laser chainsaw to cut wood. I don’t like swapping tools either and was debating a change but I would still have to swap unless I forget wood.

  3. I find the advanced placement tool (the one that allows you to move and rotate objects freely on all three axes) indispensable for all the finicky housing stuff. When aligning two objects, I also often manually enter the numbers of whatever coordinates should be identical.

    Linking objects is not easy. Basically, you select the “child” item first, then click link, then select whatever object you want to be the parent. So for my staircase, I made the top of the stair a child of the bottom of the stair, and then separately made the landing a child of the bottom piece. That allows me to move or resize the whole thing at once.

  4. Damn. I must’ve been stranded on a bad server. I hardly ever see any chat when in my house, and never saw a single invite for visiting someone’s house :( Also in the ordinary zones there is little chat and very few guild invites. I like WS a lot, so far, but this could become a problem. And for starting over my gaming time is too limited, atm.

Leave a Reply

