WildStar: The satisfaction of a job well done

taxiDue to a wicked combination of rerolling, real life, general pokiness, and housing fascination, I only hit level 23 in WildStar for the first time last night and wrapped up everything I needed to get done in Galeras.  Even so, completely finishing a zone provides me with a deep satisfaction, kind of like how you tidy up and clean a house, leaving behind a pristine dwelling.

It was lucrative, too, as the final big quest pushed me over the level 23 line and also wrapped up my last settler project.  I do need to carve out an evening to do a bunch of crafting, but for now it’s a taxi ride over to the snow-capped vista of Whitevale.  Gee, where do they get these fantastic names?

I was getting a little disatsified with how my Medic’s combat rotation was going, mostly because using Nullifier required mouse placement of two AOE fields.  I’m all for AOE DOTs, mind you, but it’s a pet peeve of mine for MMO skills to require mouse targeting.  I keep losing the cursor and feel that it adds an extra, unnecessary step to what I just want, which is for the skill to go off around me.

So I realized that, hey, this is WildStar and I can actually fiddle with my action bar instead of getting into a routine, so I created a new rotation that took out the Nullifier, swapped in Atomizer, and moved things around a bit so that I could unload damage much quicker.  I’m pretty pleased with the result.

The other observation that I had last night is how much I’m into this particular game world, and I think that one of factors to thank for that is that — at least for the Exiles — its set up as a blue-collar, middle-class kind of place.  Yes, there’s fantastic technology and spaceships, but there’s also tape patching up that couch, dingy corridors, goofy advertisements, and characters chowing down on fast food.

It’s all of the small details that begin to add up, subtly (or perhaps not so much) making a world that’s quite different than your standard pristine fantasy wonderland.  Even though it’s in the future on some far-flung world and drawn in cartoony style, this feels more “real” to me.

4 thoughts on “WildStar: The satisfaction of a job well done

  1. I was going to mention this before but you do realize that Mordesh are just infected space elves, right? Take a stroll through the character creation options and you will know it to be true

  2. I don’t generally peg elves as mad scientists with little regard for nature, nor as space zombies. I feel pretty OK playing one.

Leave a Reply

