LOTRO: The sights and smells of Gondor

q1There’s an (inconsequential) choice at the end of one of the new epic story side missions where you — as one of the cursed spirits where you get to choose whether to go with Aragorn to be redeemed as part of his ghost army or to swear eternal allegiance to Sauron.  So of COURSE I had to go with the latter, just to see what happened.  It was a little bit of a letdown during the closing scene, but I appreciated the choice nonetheless.

q2War-steeds?  Bah.  I’m all about the goats in Gondor, baby!

q3This was right as the sun was starting to come up, and I thought that the shade of the sky contrasted so nicely with the bonfires of the beacon here.

q4Gondor on the sea.  Is this the first time that we’ve seen the ocean proper in LOTRO?  I guess Forochel’s Ice Bay leads out to one, but I can’t think of anywhere else.  Gondor architecture is a little blocky and swan-y for my tastes, but it’s still impressive in scope.

q5There’s an elf cave in Gondor?  There’s an elf cave in Gondor.  I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around elves voluntarily living underground, especially bumping into them after so long since seeing them.  Mirkwood?  I guess Mirkwood.  I wasn’t weeping in joy to be reunited with them, but it is kind of nice to see a race other than Man for once.

5 thoughts on “LOTRO: The sights and smells of Gondor

  1. I haven’t read the books yet or seen the second Hobbit movie so I looked up Thranduil yesterday to see if I knew who he was after reading a bit of Hobbit movie news. According to the wiki I was reading under either him or his father the elves built a large network of caves underground to live in in Mirkwood. Maybe they took inspiration from that? If it’s true?.

  2. >I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around elves voluntarily living
    >underground, especially bumping into them after so long since seeing
    >them. Mirkwood? I guess Mirkwood.

    /lore hat on

    That’s in agreement with the canon. The words you are looking for are “Nargothrond” and “Menegroth”. The latter is more likely because that’s where a whole bunch of high-ranking elves are from in LotR.

    /lore hat off

Leave a Reply

