Quest for Glory: Robbing little old ladies

(This is part of my journey playing through Quest for Glory 1. You can follow the entire series on the Nostalgia Lane page.)

After doing a little bit of reading up on this game, I decided that I don’t want the alleged annoyance of playing a magic user, and so I rerolled as a thief and went through all of the same steps that I just did.  The only difference is that this time I was able to get into the thieves guild via the robber in the alley.  Of course, you can only do that at nighttime, and since there’s no way to speed up the game (that I can tell, at least), you’re left to wander around waiting for time to advance.

I tried to do some research as to how long the day/night cycle lasts in Quest for Glory but found surprisingly little on the subject.  According to one FAQ, there are eight time periods in a day:

  • Day is Dawning
  • Mid-morning
  • Midday
  • Mid-afternoon
  • Sunset Approaches
  • Night is still young
  • Middle of the Night
  • Not yet Dawn

But how often they switch, I dunno.  It also seems as though that time only will progress to the next period when you switch locations (leave/enter a building or leave/enter an area).  If anyone knows, tell me!

th1Anyway, the thieves guild is pretty entertaining.  Not only does it look awesome, but the head thief is all grumpy that “beginners” keep getting sent to him in this po-dunk town.  He spends the moments throwing daggers at the board.

th2There’s even a dagger/dartboard mini-game, although I’m not going to spend money playing it.

th3Instead, I use my rapidly diminishing funds to pay for a thieving license.  Yay, now I can go rip people off!  Well, what about that old lady who lived down the street?  She seems like an easy mark.

Yes, it is disturbing how a pastor will quickly resort to underhanded thievery of the elderly in video games.  Try not to think too much on it.

th4Getting into her house is pretty easy — my lockpicking skill is high enough to handle this door, no problem.

th5I’m guessing that this house is the game’s litmus test to see if you’re truly cut out for robbery, as it’s trying to guilt you so hard about robbing a sweet old lady.  Man, all I can think about is how I’m out 25 silvers for that thieves guild fee and how I need to make it back.  So I yoink pearls, silver, and other knick-nacks while avoiding the roaming cat.

th6I know what you’re thinking, and no, the game won’t let me kill the kitty.  I’m not sorry I tried, however.  The street life taught me to be ruthless.

th7If I try to go upstairs, however, the creaking boards wake the lady and she yells at the kitty until it (why not) transforms into a massive jaguar.  Game over, man!  Game over!  At least I died doing what I loved.

2 thoughts on “Quest for Glory: Robbing little old ladies

  1. Two notes for you:
    1) You can “speed up” time by resting. You choose how many hours you want to pass, and it will jump ahead. Great for boosting STA when you have worn yourself out climbing up and down a tree or throwing every single rock you can find back at the ground to skill up.
    2) The throwing mini game is a great way to build up your throwing skill AND make money. Check it out when you’re a little more flush from your thievery.

Leave a Reply

