WAR: The Genesis of Celery

celery/waves to everyone visiting from WAAAGH! See? I told you I’d still be writing about WAR, among other things.

Sometimes when you get into a bit of a gaming funk, a change is what the doctor ordered. Walk away from it entirely, for a bit — read a book, catch up on movies, take up a sport. Or (perhaps “and” in my case), drydock your routine and do something completely new and different. Ever since Syp’s hit “the wall” at rank 40, Thursday the Warrior Priest has stopped inspiring me, and Wotworks has gotten a bit frustrating due to such a limited array of abilities and gameplay (I am leveling him up solely RvR), I needed a different perspective.

Perhaps one I’ve tried before, but haven’t stuck with. A new character. A new server. A new… faction?

The mere flutters of a possible fire stoked in my belly as I rolled Celery the Squig Herder on Iron Rock. Perhaps the fire would die, perhaps it would flame up and roar — we shall see. But it certainly got me thinking about what goes into creating an alt in Warhammer (or any other MMO, for that matter).

I don’t find WAR to be a very alt-friendly game, despite the 24 classes and 10 character spots per server. I think it has a lot to do with its RvR focus, which makes you keenly aware that it’s better for you to have one character who’s really, really well-equipped and high ranked than gobs of rank 11’s running around. After one run-through to 40, I know exactly how much time and effort goes into getting a guy that high, and when you consider not just the XP, but the renown ranks, the gear, the Tome unlocks and the rest… rolling an alt is not a casual experience. It’s a hearty contract, the size and weight of a home mortgage. If I’m really going to do a new character, I better have a plan.

A plan. Good. Think, Syp, think! One of Warhammer’s great strengths is also somewhat overwhelming — you have so much choice in leveling and pursuing styles of play that you simply can’t do them all. At least, not at once, and not so well. You have to pick and choose — PvE quests, Public Quests, scenarios, RvR lakes, crafting, Tome unlocks. For Celery, I decided to actually ditch most all of the quests and be more social in my gaming time: I want to focus on PQs as my PvE experience, and then supplement that with getting bestiary unlocks and a combination scenarios/oRvR to keep my RR up (and get renown gear if needed).

So we shall see — so far, so good. I need to do a bit of SH research and get a feel for a build that would suit my playstyle, but I do know that squigs are all Syp, baby. I also found a Greenskin-only guild that I’m still getting a feel for.

There’s lots of movement and info on Patch 1.2.1 this past weekend, but I’m going to need a bit more time to digest it before chatting about it. So keep yer skirts on, gentlemen.

20 thoughts on “WAR: The Genesis of Celery

  1. Ted March 30, 2009 / 1:35 am

    As I thoroughly enjoy your writing, I don’t mind seeing a new locale. To be truthful though I don’t know who’s going to fill my appetite for WAR if your not writing on it 24/7. 😦

  2. skarbd March 30, 2009 / 4:55 am

    Syp,

    Nice to see you have settled in ok.

    I would agree with the fact that Warhammer can be over whelming. At the weekend I was trying to explain to a friend all the different things you can do. He was struggling to grasp the opportunities he had. Though he was a CoH player, so maybe that didn’t help πŸ˜‰

    I would disagree, that it’s not alt friendly. I love the fact that I have so much choice. I like the fact I can level 4/5 characters in different zones and/or focuses.

    Choice is never a bad thing.

  3. Werit March 30, 2009 / 6:04 am

    I too have been pondering making a Greenskin. I have played Order since launch, so this may be just what I need to refresh the game for me. I would likely go Choppa though, as celery is just an awful food πŸ˜‰

  4. Thulf March 30, 2009 / 6:42 am

    Reading your last post at waaagh! it sounds to me you made the right decision and i bet it was not *that* easy to make. πŸ˜‰ All the best Syp! I’ll keep on reading…

  5. inquisitorgoody March 30, 2009 / 6:54 am

    Well I said I’d visit and here I am πŸ™‚ I’ve just rolled a squig hearder myself as I’m in danger of burning out on My Swordmaster, Playing him since september and still only being R29 RR17 is pretty demoralizing.

    I’ve created and messed around on a lot of Alts in this time I have 7 on Karak Norn and the SH is my 3rd desto one. And I think this puts me in a position to agree with you that WAR isn’t very alt friendly. It’s fun to play something different from time to time but I’ve put a lot into the Swordmaster and still not got that far with him.

    I love my alts don’t get me wrong and the game is fun especially Tier 1 so I enjoy them but from time to time I look at my Swordmaster and think ‘where next?’ I need to get my RR up but am so undergeared for tier 3/4 scenarios oRvR that I continue to PvE and then I look again and I’ve gained 5 levels and my RR hasn’t moved and I think ‘Where next?’

    God this comment got long, looking forward to reading more stuff here at Bio break though πŸ™‚

  6. Formerly War Noob March 30, 2009 / 8:43 am

    Glad you moved full time to Bio Break. I got the sense that you never really fit into the Chaos Moon structure. The inability to comment there without registering annoyed me (and I’m sure it annoyed you too).

    Been following you since I started (and soon cancelled) my War Noob blog a year ago.

    Not only does this free you from Chaos Moon, but it also frees you from only commenting on warhammer which, sadly, is wilting terribly.

    Although I have stopped by Bio Break before, I’ll do so more now.

  7. Yitu March 30, 2009 / 9:44 am

    Good to read you again. πŸ˜‰

    Regrards from a german blogger,

    Yitu

  8. theerivs March 30, 2009 / 10:51 am

    First I’m a little sad Waagh closed it’s doors, it’s how I got inspired to do a WAR blog. I think your doing the right thing though, not because I can now read your stuff at work now. (Chaosmoon was blocked by my companies firewall)

    I was never an alitholic WAR, though I do play around with the other classes. I always want my Chosen to be the best, alot of work needed, and still needs to be done.

    Is this a sign of the times? Is the death knell near for WAR? I don’t think so. I don’t think it was the blazing success it could of been though. Only Time will tell though.

  9. BVD March 30, 2009 / 11:05 am

    I’ve certainly realized having 19 characters spread out over two servers was a bit… ambitious. But to see you start a fourth alt – Syp, I’m flabbergasted! Even 4 characters seems like a lot for a self-proclaimed “casual gamer” πŸ™‚

    In my case, I’ve come to the hard realization I need to send some of my creations to the trashcan or I’ll never see T4 with any of them before I quit the game. But there’s only 4 or 5 alts I could bear to kill in that manner, so that still leaves me 14 – 15 alts to deal with… blargh.

    But you’ve inspired me with this concept of “having a plan” when it comes to character creation. I think my new plan is fairly simple and straight forward, although it will still require a lot of play time to be sucessful… I’ll select 6 characters, one from each race, and that’ll be that. The rest will have to R.I.P.

    There’s some really hard choices to be made here… play my burly Black Orc or my crazy Choppa?
    My enigmatic Engineer or my stylin’ Slayer?
    My sexy Sorceress, my wicked Witch Elf or brutal Black Guard?
    My war-torn White Lion, my secretive Shadow Warrior, or my stalward Sword Master?

    I’ll certainly have the hardest time with my Empire characters… my wily Witch Hunter, my wide-eyed Warrior Priest, my blazing Bright Wizard, or my killer Knight of the Blazing Sun?

    At least I only have my childish Chosen (/fart – hah) to worry about when it comes to Chaos…

  10. Green Armadillo March 30, 2009 / 11:20 am

    There’s a certain irony to closing a blog called “Waaagh” only to write about your Greenskin elsewhere. πŸ™‚

  11. Bleri March 30, 2009 / 11:54 am

    What you mean I can comment over here?

    Personally my War time is lessening to, for some of the same reasons as yourself, so am looking forward to more general writings and more.

  12. Chris March 30, 2009 / 12:10 pm

    Hi Syp-

    Haven’t commented on your blog before, but I’ve been following you (and Snafzg and Keen and all the others) since the WAR beta. But I’ve really enjoyed you’re writing, and hope you’re able to keep at it in the future. Good luck with Bio Break and the upcoming addition.

    -Chris

  13. Syp March 30, 2009 / 12:30 pm

    Thanks all — I felt a twang of pain at posting all that last night, but I’m remarkably okay with it this morning. It really does help that it’s not the end of blogging for me, just the next step… and as you all well know, it’s very hard to shut me up for any length of time.

  14. Jennifer March 30, 2009 / 2:25 pm

    I’ve tried to write something about your move from WAAAGH! to Bio Break about five times now and nothing seems appropriate. I want to echo the comments people have made about the significance of your contributions to the WAR blogging community, but, at the same time, I want to express my understanding and try not to get overly sentimental about it.

    I guess it’ll suffice to say that I’m not a WAAAGH! fan, and I’m not a Bio Break fan; I’m a Syp fan. Keep doing what you’re doing, I’ll be there to watch…in the sense that a fan follows his or her idols, not like a voyeur or a stalker or anything…

  15. Snafzg March 30, 2009 / 2:29 pm

    ^^ Trudat!

    Iron Rock, eh? It seems like a pretty good server for my Shammy! We’ll be able to play together on IR and fight against each other on PT! Sweet! πŸ˜›

    I’m sitting at 100+ Cultivation and 75+ Apothecary. You should take up Butchering if you’re going to have a PvE focus and we can help each other out!

  16. Snafzg March 30, 2009 / 2:29 pm

    PS… open commenting ftw!

    But moderation? TEH LAMEZOR!

  17. pancakez March 30, 2009 / 3:07 pm

    Syp! We wuv u. I’m just happy now I can reply to your posts, I could never figure it out on the old blog. Always a pleasure to read your articles, regardless of if they’re WAR centric, or a bit more. Glad to see you’re not giving up on blogging, hopefully we can divert some readers to your new blog as well… though you probably, as before, don’t need help. Much love.

  18. Hiryu02 March 30, 2009 / 5:43 pm

    Have fun with the SH, Syp. If it helps, Shadow Warriors complain that SH’s get a lot of great tactics, like Aimin’ Quickly and Shootin’ wif da Wind. Look into builds with those.

    Also, Greenskins are great fun to RP as. I’m really sad that I’ve decided to stop playing my destro toons and concentrate on Order, mostly because my destro guild just was having so many problems with stability, server pops, etc. Whereas my Order guild just keeps chugging along, hit Guild Rank 27 today!

    In any case, I’ll be a daily visitor here, I hope. Keep writing, we are all just glad you’re still around.

  19. Vesta March 30, 2009 / 9:13 pm

    Great to see you do what’s best for you. What’s nice is that it also turns out fantastic for us! Who of us is ONLY interested in one MMO after all?

    And open commenting is back!

    Keep up the good work, scribbler!

  20. jejebell March 31, 2009 / 4:51 am

    Haha Greenskins guild would be totaly fun me thinks! i had the same discussion before 2 weeks with my mate Lokax, he said he was thinking of making a totaly greenskin guild and based in the roleplaying, that sounded good.. pretty good. Im lvling an sh also πŸ™‚ after the zealot.. i love to finaly can kill things! and solo and discover ! My squig is here never feel fear! :).
    Anyway theres many ways to enjoy the game u can bet with urself to make a char for pure pve for excample. Only pqs and qs and tome unlocks if the character dies in a number of deaths u delete it and ere we go again. Fun ways to simply kill ur time πŸ˜‰

    p.s: love the blog many intresting articles and will be added to my favorite blogs. πŸ™‚

    Jeje

Leave a Reply

