I Would Play It If…

wLet’s play a game.  You may call it a meme or whatever, but I’m just interested in what you might say to this.  It’s quite simple — finish this statement with a simple response, substituting different games into the sentence:

“I would play [TITLE OF MMORPG] if…”

So for example, mine would be:

  • I would play EverQuest 2 if it was a couple years ago and I had a lot of friends playing it.
  • I would play Eve Online if it was a lot more user friendly and the combat more exciting.
  • I would play World of Warcraft if they started a new “classic” server that only had levels 1-60 but with the new features and polish.
  • I would play City of Heroes if they did a huge graphics update and added more interesting powersets.
  • I would play Runescape if hell froze over.
  • I would play Star Wars Galaxies if it was 2003, to experience it from the start on, just to ride the wave of pathos.
  • I would play Dungeons and Dragons Online if it was $5 a month.
  • I would play Wizard 101 if they included options to speed up combat and stop swooping the camera around.
  • I would play Hello Kitty Online if you gave me a dollar.
  • I would play Age of Conan if… if… I’m drawing a blank here.
12 thoughts on “I Would Play It If…

  1. Tipa May 11, 2009 / 6:28 am

    It’d be worth a dollar to me to see you play HKO 🙂

  2. Xerb May 11, 2009 / 8:44 am

    Dude, I may have to mail you a buck!

  3. Magree May 11, 2009 / 9:15 am

    I would play Free Realms if I could play an ugly goblin.

    I would play Warhammer Online if city sieges were a fun experience.

    I would play LOTRO if weekends lasted three days.

  4. Frank Austin May 11, 2009 / 10:54 am

    I would play LOTRO (more often) if the combat was just a hair more responsive.

    I would play WAR if the equipment looked a bit more interesting.

    I would play WOW if the equipment looked a bit less “interesting”.

    I would play COX if there were more powers to gain and travel from level 1.

    I would play AOC if the whole experience was as solid and enjoyable as the first 20 levels, the first time through.

  5. moxie May 11, 2009 / 12:39 pm

    I would play LotRO if the game world wasn’t so brown-and-gray and blah.

    I would play WAR if there were more quests, enough to easily be able to level with a bare minimum of PvP involved.

    I would play CoH if they made leveling faster and added more mission maps.

    I would play Free Realms if I had the time. 🙂

    I would play Hello Kitty Online if I were 13 again.

    I would play Everquest2 again if… nah!

  6. Syrioq May 11, 2009 / 12:58 pm

    I would play EverQuest 2 if I had really gotten in to EQ1.
    I would play Eve Online (again) if it were quicker/easier to play a role other than fodder in the endgame pvp.
    I would play World of Warcraft (again) if I were 12 and still thought penis jokes were funny the 89th time I heard them.
    I would play City of Heroes if I had time.
    I would play Runescape (again) if there was something to excuse the low quality.
    I would play Star Wars Galaxies if I wanted to ruin my love for the franchise.
    I would play Dungeons and Dragons Online if I had ever played tabletop.
    I would play Wizard 101 if I had ever heard of it.
    I would play Hello Kitty Online if you gave me a lot more than a dollar.
    I would play Age of Conan (again) if the rest of the game were like Tortage.

    and a few of my own…

    I would play Darkfall (again) if I were masochistic.
    I would play Dark Age of Camelot (again) if they implemented a classic server with no expansions and old RvR maps.
    I would play Guild Wars (again) if I really didn’t want to pay a monthly fee.
    I would play LotRO (again) if I was bored.

  7. IX May 11, 2009 / 5:25 pm

    I would play WAR if its PvE wasn’t required to get to the fun part of the game.

    I would play LoTRO if I cared about the setting.

    I would play EvE if playing the game was half as enjoyable as looking at the screenshots.

  8. Mesar May 11, 2009 / 6:31 pm

    I would play a lot more MMOs if more alternative’s to monthly subscriptions was offered in AAA titles.

    I would play WoW if it had genuine Oceanic servers that would be based in, you know, Oceania.

  9. Sharon May 11, 2009 / 7:28 pm

    I would play Free Realms if I still liked My Little Pony and the Smurfs. And if I was 8. And if I had the music off.

    I would play Hello Kitty Online if I wanted to be able to make fun of it in an educated way.

    I would play AoC again if the whole game were as pretty and polished as Tortage. More MMOs need those blood splatters.

    I would play WoW again if I hadn’t leveled four characters to 80 already and felt like there was still something new to see.

    I would play WAR if I could siege (forts/Altdorf) without getting booted to character select and being rolled back.

    I would play Guild Wars if I could get my husband to play with me again. He still hasn’t forgiven me for yelling at him during the Sanctum Cay mission. Oops.

  10. Rog May 12, 2009 / 7:46 am

    I would play Free Realms if it wasn’t the new Hello Kitty Online.

    I would play AoC again just as a single-player game.

    I would play WAR again if all of the PvE content and rail-like zones were completely redesigned from the ground up. Bonus points if Marc Jacobs quit but first fired Paul Barnett.

    I would play WoW again on a ‘classic’ server with Scholomance, Stratholme and all the original dungeons intact in their original non-nerfed state.

    Or…

    I would play WoW again if they took every zone and made a ‘phased’ Endgame version so I could return to Duskwood and not have all the old great stuff broken.

    I would play EQ, EQ 2, Vanguard and Darkfall if they weren’t so damn ugly.

    I would play Guild Wars, DDO, or EVE if my friends would play.

    I would play TOR if BioWare had made it a Mass Effect MMO instead.

    I would play 38 Studios’ Copernicus if it was released today.

Leave a Reply

