STO: Del Fiasco?

Okay, I’ll be up front — I’m not going to get my knickers in a twist over this STO/Del Taco thing.  Even if there wasn’t a Del Taco for a thousand miles in any direction and I had no chance of getting that code, oh well.  It’s just a promotional code, a nifty one, but cosmetic only.  And the fact that STO got any sort of cross-promotion with a national franchise?  That’s a miracle in and of itself.

Of course, cosmetic only stuff means something to us, and when I went over to the Star Trek Online forums last night, I was bowled over by the tidal wave of folks who (a) were upset over this promotion because Del Taco isn’t exactly widespread (it’s mostly a west coast chain), and (b) were begging for codes from people who had access to From The Taco.  Some people have even been giving them away as a contest.

The best is one enterprising soul who offered to drive down to Del Taco and snag a code for $3.50 apiece (the cost of the drink cup plus a little bit extra for his trouble).  As of the writing of this, he’s sold over 700 of these.  Holy space cow.

So is this a fiasco or a success for STO?  It’s certainly whipping up a lot of publicity, and that ain’t not bad.  I’ve got to wonder what normal Del Taco customers are thinking when they see the STO promotion and go, “Wha?  Is this a new movie?”

On the other hand, the rabid already-subscribed-and-pre-ordered players can be easily miffed at being denied their taco code (man, I’d trade a flying shuttle for a flying space taco, wouldn’t you?), especially when there’s little they can do about it.  We gamers are delicate flowers that way.

7 thoughts on “STO: Del Fiasco?

  1. Wait, what? This is a source of nerd drama, really?

    And I thought I got spun up easily… (OK no comments from you lot!)

    I’d hear about the promo but since I’ve never heard of Del Taco I haven’t been paying attention. Had no idea it was an Issue.

  2. I’m kind of hankerin’ for a Del Taco breakfast. Maybe I’ll go check it out and see if I can grab one.

  3. I won’t be surprised to see the shuttles offered through the C-store in 6 months time. I’ll even buy one if its less than the $10 Blizzard would charge.

  4. This reminds me of the Mountain Dew bot fiasco over in WoW several months back. The European servers got burnt out of the whole deal…if my memory serves me correctly.

    Not to mention, I doubt that there will be a Del Taco in the 25th century…unless some unscrupulous Ferengi invest a who lot of cold pressed latinum to revise the chain.

  5. Pingback: Guild Wars: Back Into The Fray « Bio Break

Leave a Reply

