Star Wars: Jump to Pre-Order

So the BioWare team semi-sneakily opened up pre-orders in the middle of the night (US-wise) for The Old Republic, which meant that was my #1 priority this morning after a healthy constitutional.  A few points of note:

(1) The Collector’s Edition is $150, not the $175-$220 some of the news outlets predicted.  So a bit less costly, but still way, way up there for a luxury video game purchase.  And, yes, I picked mine up at Amazon this morning.

(2) I’m pleased to see that BioWare took a page from Trion Worlds by offering something less than a full-blown CE and more than a standard edition with its Deluxe Digital Version.  DDV purchasers will get five fun in-game toys, while CE purchasers get those plus a couple more plus all of the physical goodies.  It’s a good trade-off, especially if you don’t have the funds for the full CE.

(3) The early access is for the game proper (i.e. a head start) and not related in any way to the beta.  So pre-orders aren’t a shortcut to get into the beta, sorry (not that I was concerned).

(4) I’m insanely curious what the CE “exclusive in-game store” will be selling.  I think this is a major discussion amongst fans, but I wouldn’t hold out hope that it’s going to be Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory in terms of wonder and breadth.

(5) We are going to be projecting holo-dancers ALL OVER them mailboxes, yessir!

(6) I hope we hear from BioWare about pre-order numbers within the next week or so, because  I want to know just how big of a crowd we’re looking at here.

So to wrap up, our expected SWTOR poll!

9 thoughts on “Star Wars: Jump to Pre-Order

  1. Scarybooster July 21, 2011 / 10:18 am

    I coined the name BioDime Store if BioWare has cash shop. I bought myself a CE too. I need to teach my kids well. Teach them the ways of the force. You can’t do that with a SE or DDV.

  2. Crackola July 21, 2011 / 10:41 am

    Hey – did you register the pre-order on SWTOR.com? I pre-ordered on Origin (DD), but then had to goto SWTOR and link my SWTOR account to the preorder. Just a heads up if you haven’t done this – as this is what determines your place in the Early Access line!

  3. Syp July 21, 2011 / 10:45 am

    I pre-ordered on Amazon, since I trust them more with physical shipping.

  4. Drannos July 21, 2011 / 11:14 am

    I’m a little ashamed to say that I was one of the crazy people who got up at 3 AM Eastern to check if it was available. It was pure luck that I was up around 3:20 and hit refresh on a few site, because I was about to go to bed figuring it wasn’t going to release. I almost felt bad for the people on the official forums who basically gave up at 3 AM, until I noticed Amazon hadn’t sold out of the CE this morning…

    I picked mine up through Amazon as well. Hefty pricetag, but taken as a whole I think it was close enough to being worth it. (Besides, if it came to it, I might just be able to make my money back putting just the statue up on eBay!)

    Now if I can just figure out how to explain it to the wife…

  5. Maladorn July 21, 2011 / 11:30 am

    I just can’t justify spending on the collector’s edition or the digital deluxe. I really, really wanted to play this game about a year ago. Now? I’ve got other fiscal priorities that forces me to put a premium on non-subscription games. For that reason, Rise of Isengard was an easy purchase to make, and I really hope to be able to get a GW2 CE or deluxe. The $50 I’ve spent on the original GW series was a great entertainment investment.

  6. ZombiePirate July 21, 2011 / 11:38 am

    With my wife on maternity leave we are short on disposable income. Even if we weren’t in that position the £150 they want for the full CE is beyond comprehension from my point of view, even though I love Star Wars. I think I’m going to go with the Digital Deluxe, it’ll still cost £65 which is a lot of money but not quite as gut-busting as the big one.

  7. Straw Fellow July 21, 2011 / 11:39 am

    I’m still shaky on the game myself. It’ll be the first MMO I’ll buy at launch in years, I have at least -that- much confidence in it, but I’m not a collector’s edition kind of guy. A few mcguffins and a Sith Lord for my computer desk isn’t enough for my to drop a hundred and fifty.

    Besides, I already have this $10 Thrall statue to glare at my while I don’t play WoW. What more do I need?

  8. sente July 21, 2011 / 11:47 am

    I have no doubt the “leak” of the CE was intentional so it would be the first price point known. In comparision to the CE the quite high prices for the deluxe and standard versions looks more reasonable, even though they are quite high also.

    If they had released prices in the other way around, first standard, then deluxe and then CE, then there had been an outcry about how greedy and expensive they are.

  9. El Mutharino July 21, 2011 / 5:10 pm

    I got the digital deluxe from the EA store (origin) and got charged for the full amount (although the preorder FAQ page states otherwise). Anyone else got teh same treatment?

Leave a Reply

