Choosing my Guild Wars 2 skinsuit

My thoughts have been turning to Guild Wars 2 more often than not these days.  Just this past weekend I logged back into Guild Wars for the first time in months in order to figure out a way to that 21st Hall of Monument point that I so desire (after that I’m done, however).  I think I’m going to buy my way into it by purchasing 10 final minipets — unfortunately, there are far fewer ones that I haven’t obtained yet than ones I have.

But!  Back to Guild Wars 2.  Whether or not debate rages over its promise-to-possibility ratio, I’m feeling quite confident in what I’ve seen and heard (and, y’know, played), and thus the question isn’t “whether” for me but “when.”  As in, when will this puppy come out?  And since I can’t impact that, I’m going to turn my attention to something I can do, which is to make my pre-game picks for race and class.

Race is the easier one of the two.  ArenaNet can say “plant people” until it’s blue in the face, but you and I both know that the Sylvari are elves in everything but name — and you know how I feel about those mudblood freaks.  I think the Charr are probably the most vastly different race in the game and will certainly appeal to a certain type of gamer, but that type is not me.  And humans… boring.  So that leaves me with the equally attractive Norn and Asura.  Asura are just flat-out awesome — I love short races with attitudes — but Norn are not too shabby either.  I’m worried they might be a little too popular, what with the northern Viking archetype coming from Skyrim and Game of Thrones, but I definitely want to make me a giantess of a sort.

Now classes?  That’s where I’m stumped.  I really want to play most of them, but narrowing down to just one for an initial main is going to be brutal.  My top-tier choices are Ranger (for the pet), Mesmer (which just looks awesome) and Engineer (for, well, everything), although Thief and Necromancer both have their appeal as well.  Asura Engineer would be cool and fitting for the race, but will everyone be doing this combo?  I mean, you think Asura and “engineer” isn’t too far behind.  Kind of like Norn and Rangers, maybe.  But dang it, give me a shotgun and turrets and bombs and a short dude from which to wield them, and I’m a happy gamer.

So I’m still dithering about on the class choice.  I might need to do some additional research on the matter, see if something can tip me over into one camp or the other.

What about you?  If you’re looking forward to GW2, what’s going to be your first race/class combo?

25 thoughts on “Choosing my Guild Wars 2 skinsuit

  1. Hexxis March 12, 2012 / 10:46 am

    I’m a sucker for the short races, so I have to play an Asura. There’s no way around that for me.

    Class is trickier, as it seems to be for you. I’m drawn to the Elementalist and the Warrior.

  2. Mikey (@BigMikeyOcho) March 12, 2012 / 10:48 am

    Would it surpirse you if I said ‘Asura Engineer’. Really, once they announced the Engineer class, my mind had been made up. The problem is, as you state, they will be coming out the wazoo. My secondary choice, if I want to mix things up, though, is an Asura Mesmer.

    But really, I don’t know about the plant-people… in almost every game I play, I can’t stand elves, but thats due to elvish ‘arrogance’. These guys don’t seem arrogant, they just seem naive, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing.

  3. Pitrelli March 12, 2012 / 11:08 am

    Human warrior for me. Was originally going to be an asura thief however after viewing the warrior footage it looks like I’ll be taking a break from the stealth classes.

  4. Psnacky March 12, 2012 / 11:20 am

    As soon as I saw the Guardian profession unveiling I knew that was the class for me. It fits the thematic archetype of a defensive-type hybrid that I normally play in MMOs. I plan on playing all classes but I’m definitely starting with Guardian.

    I’ve always been one to play big and/or bestial characters so for me it’s a choice between beer-loving vikings or horned cat people and since I’m a bit of a beer geek and don’t like cats: Norn it is.

    First character will be a Norn Guardian, second will be a Charr Engineer, then an Asura something and after that I’m not sure. The last alt I’ll role will be a Sylvari because, as you said, no matter how much ArenaNet calls them plant people they’re still elves.

  5. Ryver March 12, 2012 / 11:26 am

    I do not think I will know what I am going to play until a few weeks after playing the game 🙂

    Race choice will likely be Norn and then Asura.

    Class choice is much harder; Mesmer, Necro and Engineer are the first three I want to play with.

  6. Warsyde March 12, 2012 / 12:02 pm

    Odd, when you say “Norn” I say “Warrior”, not Ranger. Almost all of the Norn NPCs in Eye of the North were melee fighters, so the idea of a Norn with a bow seems very strange to me.

    But yes, there are going to be a ridiculous number of Asura Engineers . . . though I have to wonder, are the graphics for the engineering abilities different for each race? The engineering abiltiies in the skill videos (especially the turret) look far too primitive for the Asura. The Asura blend magic and machines after all . . .

  7. Kevin Bayer March 12, 2012 / 12:25 pm

    I already have my 5 characters planned out. I’m pretty sure I even have their names picked out.
    In no particular order: An Asuran Engineer, a Norn Ranger, a Human Mez, a Sylvari Necro, and a Charr Ele.
    Which will be my “main”? I dunno. Probably the human.

    Now that you mention that everyone will probably be playing the Norn as Rangers and the Asura as Engineers I may have to shuffle those. Charr Engineer? Asura Ranger (a tiny Asura with a huge pet? Awesome!) A Norn ele? My human will definitely be the Mez though,and will probably be my main.

    And this time I’m sticking to all male characters. While the girlies are nice to look at, sometimes a Norn upskirt shot is just a little too disturbing. As long as none of the male characters have to wear that Derv dress. /shudder

  8. bhagpuss March 12, 2012 / 12:25 pm

    Can’t really be sure until I get in and try them out but at this stage I imagine it’ll be Asura and Charr for the first two races. Not even thought about the class but I generally start with a Warrior archetype to get the feel of a new game before switching to the more complex classes after a few days.

    I’m hoping that GW2 will be a game I play long enough to try out everything eventually.

  9. Rinvan March 12, 2012 / 12:44 pm

    I have wanted to play a Charr warrior for years.
    If you want minipets Syp, I may have some that I didn’t use in the hall of monuments. I have not actively played GW since 2008. Post what you want, I am probably not the only reader who could pass your pets your way. (I should have at least one pet that isn’t one the common ones)

  10. Leori March 12, 2012 / 12:56 pm

    Count me in for Asura too. Enjoyed playing small races since my taru paladin in XI. In that same vein Guardian appeals to me the most, but I imagine I’ll end up trying a few of the other classes like Elementalist.

  11. coppertopper March 12, 2012 / 1:30 pm

    Human something. That home city is amazing!

  12. Moxie March 12, 2012 / 1:30 pm

    I’m torn between Asura (too cute!), Norn (female dwarves but… taller??) and Sylvari (THEY ARE NOT ELVES. THEY ARE PLANT PEOPLE).

    As for class… ranger is appealing, as that is what I played oh so briefly in GW, but I think Mesmer will be my final choice. So much nifty stuff there.

  13. ScytheNoire March 12, 2012 / 1:41 pm

    Norn – too tall
    Asura – too short
    Charr – too ugly
    Sylvari – too elven
    Human Necromancer it is!

  14. Syl March 12, 2012 / 1:52 pm

    Norn and Asura for me as well.
    I love what GW2 does with all the classes to be honest, I watched a ton of class videos the past week (do you know the Bonked episodes on YT? they’re really good) and ALL of them have unique features and a new spin to them, even the elementalist. and call me boring, but I love powerful mages commanding all the elements – so for me it will be that class. 🙂

  15. Attic Lion March 12, 2012 / 1:52 pm

    /applause

    It’s refreshing to see someone else who isn’t taken in by that whole “but they’re plants ;_;” nonsense. I’ve been calling them cabbage elves since the start; ’cause that’s what they bloody well are. Elves with a dye job and bits of cabbage nailed to them. But I digress.

    Anyways, if you want to be snowflake Syp I don’t believe an asuran engi is such a bad thing. They’ll probably only be the 3rd most common type of engi after charr and humans after all. And I can’t really fathom the class being extremely popular on the whole anyways. Not when compared to the wizard, fighter, rogue, and paladin.

    Myself am torn between necromancer and pala^H^H^H^H guardian. But I have my race preferences solidified. Norn are the best everything, except necormancers, because they’re bloody 8 foot Cimmerians. Charr are the best necromancers for reasons I can’t put into words, though the tempting pun of naming one Nekomancer might have something to do with it.

  16. Stormwaltz March 12, 2012 / 2:28 pm

    For me, the class is easiest. Since I first played Troika’s Arcanum, I’ve had a simple joy; that of putting a bullet in the face of an arrogant, preening elf.

    Yes, yes. Sylvari aren’t elves, and they don’t seem terribly arrogant. Still: engineer. No question.

    Race? I’ll figure that out later.

  17. Tesh March 12, 2012 / 2:34 pm

    Engineer, definitely, maybe Charr, maybe Asura. Ranger for the other.

  18. SlothBear March 12, 2012 / 3:18 pm

    Haha when the Sylvari reveal came out I wrote a post called “Green elves with leaves” as that was exactly what they looked like.

    And yes, my Asura will be an Engineer. Because a little guy that runs around throwing glue at people is basically a goblin and goblins are awesome.

    My “main” (if I have one) will be a human warrior though I think.

  19. Kemwer March 12, 2012 / 5:21 pm

    I love Guild Wars 2 spin on races. I think they all look very different and interesting, even types of races I usually don’t like playing at all (like small, cute-ish ones). But with that said, I have no illusions about them being “unique”. They all follow the normal Lord of the Rings standards, World of Warcraft styled races we know and love.

    Humans = Humans: flawed, patriotic, religious
    Charr = Orcs: beastly, industrial, military, honored
    Sylvari = elves: elegant, mystical, flamboyant, tree-hugger
    Asura = gnomes: creative, intelligent, competitive, arrogant
    Norn = dwarves: battle-loving, proud, short-tempered, heavy drinker

    Despite not being truly unique, I think they are different enough to give the game personality.

    Anyway, I not only have picked my class and race combo, but I already have my first 3 characters chosen.

    Main: Charr Elementalist
    2nd: Norn Ranger
    3rd: Human Mesmer

    I plan on having chars with the other 2 races as well, but I’m still trying to figure out their classes.

  20. Draginfaerie March 12, 2012 / 5:21 pm

    My ‘main’ will be a Sylvari Necromancer. After that’s it’s probably going to be Norn Ranger, Asura Guardian, and Human Mesmer. I’ll be making a Warrior and Engineer in there somewhere but I haven’t figured out the race I want for them yet.

  21. Randomessa March 12, 2012 / 9:52 pm

    I will most certainly be rolling a salad elf as my first and main character. Currently I’m leaning toward warrior as my first choice after seeing the footage out of the press beta. Second and next most dear to my heart I will be rolling a charr necromancer. Mesmer looks as fun as all get out to play, but I’m not sure I have the skilled chops to play one effectively.

  22. Ayane March 13, 2012 / 6:11 am

    It’s funny. You say that “the Sylvari are elves in everything but name”, yet I’m attracted to them for all the ways that they’re NOT like elves (and admittedly for a few of the ways in which they are). Young (as a race), innocent, curious about the world, compassionate, not set in their ways, open minded, etc. Elves tend to be none of these things.

    As such it’s sylvari mesmer for me; I’ve know that for a long, long time (well before they revealed either the mesmer or the re-designed sylvari).

    And for god’s sake, don’t base your choices on what other people might or might not do. That’ll only drive you crazy. If an asura engineer seems fun to you, then play an asura engineer regardless of what anyone else plays. No matter what race/class combination you pick, it might well turn out to be the most popular in one way or another anyway. Particularly since all classes and races in GW2 look like so much fun to play.

  23. Erion March 13, 2012 / 11:33 am

    I’ve been reading your blog for quite sometime and finally decided to stop lurking and see if I can help you out. Let me know what minipets you need and I’ll look through my collection. I haven’t played in quite sometime, but the bday gifts are still rolling in and I’ve got quite a few unded minis sitting around.

    To stay on topic a little bit, definitely going to roll a Charr Ranger. Pyre decided for me as soon as he was introduced into the game.

  24. Attic Lion March 13, 2012 / 4:44 pm

    @Ayane

    Not to speak for Syp, or anyone else really, but I think you’re looking at things from a different perspective.

    You seem to be viewing the sylvari through the lens of game lore. Which admittedly is fairly different from standard elf lore, if only because they they reversed the polarity on a few aspects (young race vs old, inexperienced and curious vs wise and reserved, etc).

    I view the sylvari through the lens of aesthetics and thematics. They’re pretty. They look young/don’t age. They’re naturally magically attuned. They’re protective of nature and live in trees. They’re specifically stated to be very noble and good when compared to everyone else, especially humans; except for the branch of them that are a bunch of evil bastards. All these things positively scream elf.

    Which is fine. I don’t mind that sylvari are not-Elves. In the same way I don’t care that charr are not-Orcs and asura are not-Gnomes. I even like elves in certain settings. Guild Wars is not one of those settings.

Leave a Reply

