Weather forecast: Storms all November

We’ve been waiting to hear when the last big expansion of the year was going to arrive, and finally we got it: RIFT’s Storm Legion is arriving on November 13th.  Awesome.  Perfect.  I’m psyched.

The date works quite well for me, since it’ll give me time to settle in with GW2, have more fun with TSW, and explore LOTRO’s new expansion.  And when it comes to the competition, it’s good for Trion to aim more for the holiday season than the crowded fall.  I had a feeling the expansion was still a while off, considering the extremely slow pace of new soul reveals (we still have three of the four to go, even though we know all of their names now).

I really like the new trailer, but it’s the expansion editions that are drawing my attention.  Trion’s gone with two versions which have an optional “buy this expansion, tack on $10 and get the original game and 30 days of play time as well” feature too.  Pre-ordering both gets you a cape and early access to one of the expansion’s dungeons, which is… okay, I guess.  I’m not wetting my pants over it.  The Infinity Edition ($60) is worth a look, because it comes with a portable porticulum, which would be highly useful, as well as a pet and mount.

However, right now I’m seriously mulling over just paying for the annual subscription to get the free expansion.  I figure I know I’m going to be playing it for the next year anyway, and it would be nice to take a monthly payment off the table, get a discount, and get the expansion to boot.  The pre-order extras are nice, but nothing I would feel a keen sense of loss over if ignored.

So that leaves me with two months or so of time in the pre-expansion RIFT, and I’m trying to figure out what I want to accomplish.  I’m still gearing up my character through dungeon runs, although that’s certainly not a priority since Storm Legion’s going to outdate all of that armor pretty soon.  I’ve been pecking away at Ember Isle, which is both incredibly pretty and quite tough for solo content.  Apart from that, I’ve been thinking about leveling up a mage with just instant adventures and dungeon runs.  But that might not be a great idea, since I’m trying hard to focus on one character per game right now.  (Then again, my brain whispers, that new mage soul looks sick).

It just gives me a warm feeling to see RIFT growing like this, and while it’s all happening during one of the busiest MMO seasons in recent memory, it still is compelling enough to keep playing.  Plus, we’ve got update 1.10 and a possible new world event coming between now and then, so it’s not like there’s going to be a dearth of new content.

3 thoughts on “Weather forecast: Storms all November

  1. Phil September 5, 2012 / 4:56 pm

    After a break of few month I dusted off my Rift account today and getting back myself.
    Since I’m on a 79eur/yr subscribtion plan I’m gonna preorder the expansion instead of switching to the 109eur/yr plan to get it free. Still got 240 paid days left on the account anyway, 🙂

    I’m thrilled to see this game progress to the next stage.

  2. Leelu Butterfly September 5, 2012 / 9:14 pm

    I seriously don’t know how you can play so many games at once, I struggle so badly with that, maybe why I end up being an unhappy butterfly :(. I’ve played all the games you’ve mentioned but only seem to be able to focus on one at a time (serial monogamist?!), even though I really want to play them all. As soon as I play more than one, one takes precedence over the other and I find it hard to get the ‘pull’ back for the original once I was playing. I’m having a ‘slight’ success at the moment with GW2 and Eve but only because they’re vastly different games I think.

Leave a Reply

