Tidying up LOTRO

I don’t know if it’s like this for everyone, but prior to a game releasing an expansion, I like to tidy up my character in preparation for it.  LOTRO’s been getting some attention from me here and there lately, but not as much as prior to TSW and GW2 (for obvious first month reasons).  Besides, I thought I was pretty much ready for Riders of Rohan, but when I sat down to write up a to do list, I realized I had quite a few things to do:

1. Finish Volume 3 Book 6

Since the expansion picks up after book 6 (with books 7-9), this is probably the most important item on the list to accomplish.  After all, how bad would that be to be left behind on that first day of the expansion because you haven’t completed all your homework?  Er, quests?

Besides, it’s a good way to get back into the main storyline and mentally prepare for the shift to Rohan.  I’ve heard nothing but great things about the epic story of the expansion, so being ready to experience it on day one is important to me.

2. Tidy up storage space

LOTRO is a bad enabler for pack rats, because the game throws so much stuff at you and you’re always a little afraid to delete any of it.  But even with all of the storage options enabled, I’m plum out of room across the board.  Three of my six bags have a permanent set of items — potions, extra LIs, other “essential” items — and I am constantly running out of room.

So I’ve decided to do some spring (er, fall) cleaning.  I’m going to clean out my vault and perhaps mail a bunch of stuff to alts.  And I am going to get those three full bags down to just one.

3. Create a few new outfits

My fashion’s getting a bit stale, because even though I have eight outfits, I only wear one or two of them.  I’m going to give myself permission to get rid of the old designs and try to come up with something that looks new and fun.  And if I have to go on a dye shopping spree?  So much the better!

4. Work on virtues

I really, really don’t want to do this.  I know I was all on fire about virtues a couple months ago, but that represents time I don’t have at the moment.  The cap’s going up to 16 with the expansion, and I would like to be ready for it.  Virtues are not a high priority on my list, but they are there.

There’s a lot more to do if you’re really an achiever, so I’ll point to this thread on the forums that one enterprising player put together as to how to prepare for RoR!

 

3 thoughts on “Tidying up LOTRO

  1. I’d be happy to work on Virtues if all the ones I don’t have yet weren’t tied up in those [stream of expletives deleted] Slayer Deeds. Even with accelerators, those things are bloody tedious. I only have so much time to play, why should I waste it killing ONE thing over and over and over?

  2. @Tobasco: Because how else would Turbine force you to purchase Slayer deed accelerators? Turbine can’t fix this problem now if they wanted to, because how does one propose to make a change that ends sales of a cash store item?

    RE: OP
    The expansion delay was a welcome reprieve, in that there was no way I was getting everything on my list done before the original date. I still may not make it by mid-Oct, but /shrug.

  3. Haha, I’m just like that, even wrote a post myself on the five things I wanted to finish before RoR as well. Deeds on my 3 main (raiding) characters all to 14 was one of them, and I’m really dreading it. I started off enthusiastically by doing one deed each day, but I couldn’t keep up with it, especially now I need to study again. Hope it turns out better for you!

Leave a Reply

