Guild Wars 2: Thoughts at level 80

80sIt finally happened, about three months after probably everyone else: I dinged 80 in Guild Wars 2.  I actually had a great leveling sprint over the weekend that took me from 72 to 80 in a couple of days, further illustrating that ArenaNet wasn’t joking when it said that the game had a pretty flat leveling curve.  It was pretty cool to see levels ding fairly frequently, because there’s something psychologically satisfying when that bar fills up quickly instead of slowly.

In a way, level 80 is an arbitrary number without much significance to my current playstyle.  I guess it means that most of the zones and content are open to me, but I’ve been methodically leveling in zones far below my level so that I keep getting artificially bumped down.  It certainly was nice to get my final trait point and fully flesh out my pyrotank build.

My goals for this character remain constant.  I’m working toward 100% map completion (I’m 63% right now, so there’s 37% of the game that still needs plundering).  I also have quite a bit of my personal story to do, having stopped doing it at level 22.  I think I’ll wait until I hit 100% map completion and then just do the whole story in one go so that I can keep track of what’s going on.  Making money continues to be a goal, and I’m enjoying playing the AH a little more than I was previously.

One of the things I started to worry about when I hit 80 was the whole gear issue.  I wasn’t really putting much emphasis on gear while leveling, because I was handling the zones okay and decent gear would come my way all the time.  But I felt that level 80 meant that I had to get serious about shoring up my stats, so I started to look into exotics for the first time.  I actually felt a twinge of despair at this, because I loathe endgame gear grinds and had no idea what was in store for GW2.  A guildie told me that I’d be spending karma out of my nose to buy just one piece, and I knew I wasn’t going to be running a lot of dungeons.

So, dope that I am, I finally turned to the trading post to see what was available.  Wouldn’t you know it, there is just tons of exotic gear on sale by crafters for incredibly affordable prices.  I had over 7 gold saved up at this point, and it took a little less than 5 gold to fully deck out my character.  Sure, I didn’t pick the absolute BEST exotic gear, but it’s all very servicable and gets me into the right stat range.  I also had some nice tanking runes saved up for my build, so now I’m way better than before.  That actually felt GREAT; the concern of gear was lifted from my shoulders and I could just keep playing the game.  Sure, there’s better gear out there if I’m ever interested, but it’s far from a priority.

A part of me is still mulling over alts, but I’m trying to hold off of rolling one until I reach my goals on this character.  I was going back and forth between a Necro and a Mesmer for my #2, although lately I’ve had the strong desire to hit things hard with a big weapon, which means that I’m also looking at the Guardian and Warrior.  For my second run-through, I’m going to focus a little more on crafting and just general wanderlust, doing events and going wherever I want.  Doing more exploring, lore-reading, and so on.

I’m very heartened by how enjoyable Guild Wars 2 continues to be.  It’s the most relaxing MMO I have on my computer, because I can boot it up within seconds and just do whatever comes natural.  I don’t feel the weight of a huge quest log hovering over my head or the pressure to get to the endgame where everyone else is.  And I’m still wowed by the game’s beauty and little touches that go a long way to setting it apart from the pack.  Hopefully over Christmas I’ll get some good time to play it and check out the Wintersday content coming to the game.

14 thoughts on “Guild Wars 2: Thoughts at level 80

  1. If it makes you feel better, I have 2 characters at lvl 30 and I still can’t decide between them !!

    What is there to do at lvl 80 other than dungeons? (I’m not much of a dungeoneer)

  2. I have two 80s, a 67 and a 40 now. I would have had three 80s this weekend, but the Necromancer decided she had to level before the Warrior and went from 25 to 40 while the poor warrior went from 65 to 67.

    With all that leveling I don’t have even 50% map completion on any of them. I do most of my leveling in Ascalon and the Shiverpeaks and increasingly in WvW. South of Lion’s Arch and much of Kryta remains unexplored in any depth.

    What I feared most about GW2 seems to be happening: I play it most of the time. I really was hoping that by now I’d have slipped into something more like the three-to-five MMO rotation I’m comfortable with, but I rarely get the urge to log into anything but GW2. WvW is ferociously addictive once you get into it…

  3. I petered out at 50 on one character and 30 on an alt. Also have a couple of mid 20s. I love the speed of leveling but when I realized I had been using the same skills I had at level 10 still at 50 and that I would really see no more new skills I was a bit bummed and lost interest,

  4. My main is lvl39, and my three alts are lvl10 ! You are not alone !
    Planetside2 start to take some time for me from GW2.

  5. Regarding getting exotics at 80:

    I can afford a full set but haven’t bought any yet because I don’t know which set to buy. How do people decide? There are so many different stat configurations and, as far as I can tell, no clear-cut way of telling which one best suits your build. So I just buy nothing and live in a perpetual state of anxiety about “doing it wrong”.

  6. I’ve been 80 for weeks and still not full exotic or gave much thought to stats until recently. I have 400 on huntsman and leather working so just need to grind materials.

    Like you I’ve been concentrating on 100 % completion. I’m on 99% with only one or two wvw points needed……its brutal. So imo deal with wvw stuff asap as the zones come pretty easy.

  7. I’ve never been too worried about new skills if the old ones are scaling well. My Engy is at 55, with my Thief about to surpass my Ele in second place. There will a good session tonight, my lovely bride along. I did come to realize something someone said in a comment on a nother post, leveling solo seems slow going. Yet I’ve consistently “out-leveled” (not that it means much here) zones while in a duo with Sctrz. Slowly, but surely, we’re making our way to the top, then who knows.

  8. Glad to hear you’re having a lot of fun in GW2. I enjoy it as well and can attest to being an altaholic with my Mesmer, Necro, and Ranger all in the mid 40′s, Elementalist at 30 and Guardian at 20. I’m also dabbling in the WvW scene on my toons and am finding it a lot of fun as well. There is something to be said for realm (server) pride!! WvW seems more like cooperation and strategy versus straight up pvp. I mean, yes, you’re killing people on the other servers, but it’s not as brutal as a 1v1 match and I always like to find a group of people (strangers, really) and just run around with them. It’s a fun and exciting thing to do with quite a bit of a learning curve to boot.

  9. I hit 80 on my engineer a month or so after launch, and completed the personal story, but am still at 51% map completion. Been slacking off on that while I ran WvW, did various dungeons with guildies, levelled alts (Guardian now at 72 so will be my second level 80) and tried out all sorts of engineer builds. I’ve gone from rifleman to pistoleer with turrets to grenadier to bomb maniac to flamethrower/elixir gun… all of them worked pretty well, to be honest.

    Aurgon: while plenty of people will tell you what are the “best” stats for your class or build, GW2 is a game in which all of the stats are useful. Just bear in mind that condition damage only helps if you’re using skills that apply burns/bleeds/poison to the target, and magic find gets you better loot but doesn’t actually help kill stuff. There are some players who get sniffy about people wearing magic find gear in dungeons.

  10. I have an 80 engi and an alt of every other class. Like you Syp I jump in for a relaxing experience and love the fact I can be doing something fun immediately. Looking forward to the xmas events and the Jan/Feb expansions!

  11. Pingback: The End Is Nigh! (at least for 2012) « Sandson's Organic Chickens

  12. Congratulations to dinging Level 80.

    I am also going for the “slow Way” in GW2. Even if Leveling in Guild Wars 2 goes relativly fast (in my personal opinion) i only managed to have two characters on max level yet. I like to enjoy the WvW with my Guildmates and Tournament PvP even more, and i belief that there are many more features in the Game that can be enjoyed and explored.

    People are just putting to much pressure on themselfs dinging to 80 in record time.

    Happy New Year btw.

    Jennifer

  13. Pingback: Guild Wars 2: First Impressions - BagoGames

Leave a Reply

