My geeky new year’s resolutions

resolutionsResolution #1: I’m going to level a Mage in RIFT from 1 to 60

I’m really starting to think that the Mage life is the life for me (in RIFT at least).  I’m well on my way already, having gotten my character to level 22 in two days.  Instant adventures and dungeoneering, here I come!

Resolution #2: I’m going to make my level 20 Warden in LOTRO my main and get her to 85

Time for a new perspective in LOTRO, because I am bored to tears with my Captain.  My sweet level 20 Warden has been begging me for more attention, and now that there’s faster leveling and remote looting, it might just be the time.  My plan here is to focus exclusively on virtues for leveling with a side dish of group skirmishes and dungeons.  I’m ignoring volume 1, but will jump on board with volumes 2 and 3 of the epic storyline.  We’ll see how it goes.

Resolution #3: I’m going to get to 100% map completion in Guild Wars 2

67% and counting, baby!  And then, alts?  Mayhaps?

Resolution #4: I’m going to finally finish all of the featured episodes in Star Trek Online

This shouldn’t take TOO long, as I only have about 10 or so of them to do.  It would be nice to experience them all and be sitting pretty for the next set that eventually release.

Resolution #5: I’m going to learn how to make podcasts

I’ve gotten to the point in my life where I know that I need to buckle down and actually learn how to make, not just record, a podcast.  I have an idea for a project, but it’s going to require me to put aside some time to master all of the quirks of podcast assembly.

Resolution #6: I’m going to focus more on play session stories on Bio Break

I’ve already been doing this, but I’m just going to put it out there that I’m more interested in the day-to-day adventures of gaming than chewing on all of the big meta debates and topics that we’ve been talking about for years.

Resolution #7: To join a GeoCaching team

I’m nervous about doing this, but I’d really like to be GeoCaching with a group of people instead of just myself.  Again, it’s a time issue, but even if it’s once a month, that’d be pretty fun.

Resolution #8: To lose 40 more pounds and exercise regularly

I’ve made a good start on my weight loss but I’m terrified that I’m either plateauing or will backslide.  That’s why I need to add exercise and get serious about putting off the rest of this weight.  I’d love to hit my target goal by the end of summer, if not the end of the year.

Resolution #9: To watch all of Star Trek: Deep Space Nine and Fringe

Here are two series I’ve been meaning to watch in their entirety and haven’t yet.  DS9 is something that I’ve lightly watched but never got into, mostly because I was in college (without a TV) for most of its run.  Happily, Netflix streaming + MMO gaming = multitasking.

Resolution #10: To group more, help more, and enjoy the journey more

I still like to create goals and embark on new projects, but I really want to loosen up more and be okay getting off the beaten path.  I’m making no promises what games I will play (other than LOTRO and RIFT), but I’m willing to bet that I’ll keep trying old and new games during the year.

11 thoughts on “My geeky new year’s resolutions

  1. Good luck with your resolutions/goals. For your resolution #1 I am doing something similar, except I feel that the rogue life is the life for me in Rift. Maybe I’ll see you around!

  2. How are you going to stream/watch Fringe? I’ve always been interested in that show, but not sure where to get it.

  3. Syp, just wanted to mention it here as well: Thanks for the NBI. Without that, my blog would not exist. (Just wrote the same in my last post as well)

  4. Brave to be so specific with your resolutions. I did this for a number of years, but now I’ve chosen to go fluffy so that it’s harder to say that I failed. :)

  5. Wish you well with your goals. I’m interested how your warden turns out. I’ve capped out 2 wardens on different servers but recently sorta moved on to a champion that I’m focusing on thru Rohan. Wardens have changed a lot the past few years and I’ve found that its not friendly to sporadic play, ymmv. Granted, if are not expected to tank in groups, it’s quite easy to roll thru pve content with only a fair knowledge of the class.

  6. Good luck with the mage. Are you going with the new Harbinger-Solo-God spec or sticking with a tried and true older build? For my mage I fell in love with the Harb/Chloro combo and got it from 39 to 52 in just a couple of days. Though since it’s an alt it’s now sitting less-used since I was focused on getting my main to 60 instead. And now I’m working on my warrior, and then I’ll do the mage. . . . The mage is doing crafting dailies, though, and since it’s a triple-crafter doing all 6 dailies is actually about 10% of a level, so it’s well into level 53 now and still climbing, in spite of not really being played.

  7. @Pkudude — I’ve got a Harbinger spec, a Necro (which is my main spec), and an Archon right now.

    @Ocho — I have the first four seasons on DVD

  8. Check out your local gyms for bootcamp programs. They are a great way to both lose weight and get used to working out regularly. It’s hard to do that by yourself.

  9. Wow Syp, I was shocked to see you’ve got a few unofficial goals I had made for myself as well!
    Turns out I’m watching DS9 as well. Just finished Season 1, now I’m on to Season 2. Can’t wait for the later seasons with the major battles. Sadly as a Canadian, I don’t get DS9 on Netflix (soon I hope), so I’ve been resorting to watching them online.

    Also, I’m also planning on losing weight – down 15lbs so far and counting!

    Lastly, Guild Wars 2 is going great. Just got my second character to 80 now I’m focusing on map completion and gearing up my Ranger.

    Cheers and Happy New Year bud!

  10. OH, one last thing. Although I’m incredibly happy in Guild Wars 2, my other resolution is to keep an eye on the Neverwinter MMO. Not entirely sold on it as I’m not liking the graphics, but the old pen and paper player in me is crying out for some decent AD&D fun!

  11. Pingback: Syp’s 2014 geeky resolutions | Bio Break

Leave a Reply

