Star Trek Online: Alternate history

tashaFor someone who left Star Trek 23 episodes into the first season of The Next Generation, Denise Crosby has been clinging onto her Star Trek connection like nobody else I’ve seen.  She came back for a few episodes of TNG, did the Trekkies film series, and has been milking any Star Trek appearance she could get after that.  So I guess it makes sense that she would pop up in Star Trek Online at some point.

I’m not complaining, mind you.  Cryptic threw together a really cool third anniversary mission for players that enlisted Crosby to reprise Yar’s character, harkened to the classic TNG episode Yesterday’s Enterprise, gave us some awesome time travel, and delivered a brand-new ship to the game: the Ambassador-class starship (best known as the Enterprise-C).

I had a chance to log in last night to STO in the first time in a couple weeks, and really enjoyed myself.  Even though the actual featured episode is somewhat short, it’s packed with goodness, interesting from start to finish, and gives out great rewards.

Spoilers from here on out!

So you begin by (of course) investigating some anomalies where starships of various types are popping in and out of existence.  Then something weird happens when you see the Enterprise-C appear: Your starship transforms into a grubby freighter, and you’re suddenly a solo captain who’s working for the Tholian overlords.  Yup, the time stream has been altered and not for the better.

The bulk of the mission takes place on the Tholian space station where you find out from a few people that the Enterprise’s return to the past went a little screwy and messed things up even worse than before.  You see characters, such as the formerly new captain of the Enterprise-F, as slaves in an oppressive society with only a vague notion that something’s gone wrong.  And eventually you bump into Tasha Yar and Castillo from Yesterday’s Enterprise, who want your help gaining access to the captive Enterprise-C before the Tholians dismantle it.

To do so, you need to convince someone to be a distraction to the guards, then you sneak into some tech tunnels to get to the ship.  The mission throws you a loop by taking away the radar, and instead forcing you to rely on a hand map for a simple maze.  I did get a chuckle when I discovered a corpse and got the achievement “He’s Dead, Jiim.”

Past that, getting onto the ship is pretty easy.  It’s an incredible view, however, as you go from the control room through the docking arm and see this starship up close and very personal.  Following that is a fight between you and a bunch of Tholians.  That was more difficult, as the game just threw icons all willy-nilly on my hotbars and forced me to just slam them all over and over in the hopes that I’d win.  I wouldn’t have, if a temporal Starfleet vessel didn’t show up to lend a hand.

Once things are set right, you go back to Earth Stardock and get your rewards: a new uniform and TWO Ambassador ships.  One of the ships is a standard commander-level reward, and one is a limited-time admiral-level retrofit.  I won’t be trading in my kitty carrier any time soon, but it’s nice to have these ships in the bank in case I want to start an alt some day.  And two ships for one little mission?  That’s an incredible deal, especially as Cryptic usually charges a lot for these admiral retrofits.  Definitely worth doing even if you don’t play STO regularly.

So hats off to Cryptic and Denise Crosby for a fun time, and I’m most definitely looking forward to the big content coming this spring (Romulan faction?  Maybe…).

5 thoughts on “Star Trek Online: Alternate history

  1. Syp – I had an absolute ball doing this mission and it’s this kind of content that I crave, because the team can be REALLY good at it when given the opportunity. I had an actual and powerful emotional reaction when I ran into my first officer, and then my COE and CSO…it was wild. I really didn’t expect that.

  2. Lt. Tasha Yar. I loved her. She was so hot.

    It’s nice that they did this, although her boobs don’t look quite the same. You’d think they would spend more time perfecting those, since they are so perfect in real life. :)

  3. I love Star Trek in all its forms from the TV shows to the movies, even Voyager, so it’s a shame I didn’t like the mmo as much. I think I would like it more if it wasn’t such a high learning curve to figure out space travel, which imo is a bit clumsy, but the most irritating feature was not being able to save a mission part of the way into it, so I could come back and play it at a convenient time. That sealed it for me and haven’t been back yet.

Leave a Reply

