LOTRO: I love it when a plan comes together

lmYou know what’s a great feeling?  When several long-term projects you’ve been working on in an MMO come to completion almost at the same time and your character takes a giant leap forward.  I had such a moment this past weekend as my Lore-master managed to overcome several challenges to hit a significant milestone.

I had just turned 40 and was at a questing speed bump.  I needed to move into Misty Mountains, but those quests were 43 or so, and I didn’t relish the idea of just doing skirmishes to close the gap.  So instead I decided to focus on getting my first legendary traits — you know, the trio of traits that you get by finding pages for these books you buy.  It’s a lot better than it used to be, by far, and I knew that having a legendary trait at my back would help during the 40s.

So I divided up my time between a camp in the Misty Mountains and another one in Angmar, each of which had the possibility of coughing up half of the pages needed.  As I embarked on a long killing spree, several interesting things happened.  A few class traits finished up around then, and I discovered that the mobs I was grinding were needed for a set of racial traits as well.  I love two-for-one opportunities.

By Sunday evening, I had accomplished the following:

  • Obtained all three legendary traits, all of which I’ll be slotting
  • Got two new racial traits, one useful for melee and one a heal
  • Farmed enough mathoms to get Kindred with the Mathom Society (hello nifty horse!)
  • Finished up a few class deeds
  • Dinged level 42
  • Farmed around four gold or so

When I returned to the bard, I was pretty satisfied.  Being able to equip the legendary staff-and-sword trait along with the Man trait that gave more bonuses to parry and evade was a big step forward in my melee combat.  Plus, I loved seeing my morale jump by 300 or so.

We don’t always get nights like that, so they’re to be cherished when they do arrive.  I love it when a plan comes together.

2 thoughts on “LOTRO: I love it when a plan comes together

  1. pkudude99 March 18, 2013 / 1:41 pm

    Glad it’s working out so well for you. In light of your recent postings I’ve hopped into LotRO myself the past few weeks. Really just dipping my toes — got a few characters to levels 10-12 to get a feel for the early game. I was actually fairly disappointed in the Loremaster, which was odd, since it sounded really cool in the description, but I just didn’t like how it played. For now I’m focusing on a Warden instead and am enjoying it quite a lot. Still only level 12, but mixing up the various gambits for the different buffs they give has been fun for me so far.

  2. ChaosConstant March 18, 2013 / 2:06 pm

    I always loved then LM in theory, but felt horribly squishy, and died a lot more than my mini. I never got out of bree-land, though. Does it get better? Or am I just doing it wrong?

Leave a Reply

