I’d rather have the money, thank you

scrooge_mcduck_raining_gold_lgIt’s been a really light past seven days or so in terms of gaming.  Real life has gotten in the way, and for several reasons, I just haven’t had a lot of time to get into MMOs (the fact that a Windows update kept me from playing LOTRO for most of last week didn’t help either).  What time I have had has mostly been spent in Guild Wars 2, where I’ve been experimenting with a number of different alts.  It’s been more difficult than I’d anticipated choosing a second character; I think that the Engineer fit me so perfectly that everything else seems a little pale in comparison.  Anyway, I’m currently tinkering with a Mesmer, so we’ll see how she shakes out.

As part of the alt experiment, I’m looking at playing a little differently.  I’ve placed a stronger emphasis on seeking out and doing events, as well as dailies.  What I was also going to do was crafting, as my main had been diligently storing materials in the bank in anticipation of this.  But apart from cooking, it just didn’t seem worth it.  I’m not hurting on gear for my main, and I don’t anticipate needing crafting to fill that void for my alt.  And the only other reason to craft would be to try to make goods to sell — but that probably takes more time and diligence than I have.

That brought me around to the same place I always end up: being a hardcore gatherer and selling mats to make money.  Unless crafting can make “must have” gear or goods that I can’t obtain or equip otherwise, I’d almost always rather have the money that I can get from easily selling mats.  It’s like those people who ask for just cash for their birthday instead of actual gifts.  Just gimme the money and I’ll get what I want.  So I sold all of my mats for about 25 gold and called it a good night.

Having a fat wallet in an MMO always makes me feel more secure.  It’s easier for me to just sell crap, make a lot of money, and then buy what I want from the players who are diligent enough to craft or find the goods I want.  Right now in GW2 there’s a mad rush to get the weapon skins from Super Adventure Box.  There are a few ways to get them: grind for baubles to buy one, hope for a drop, or buy one off the trading post.  A fat wallet shoots me to the express lane for the latter and saves me grinding time.  That rocks.

So yeah, it may not be flashy, but I’d rather have the money.  There’s nothing worse than needing to buy better gear, bigger bags, or training and being flat broke.  It’s why I make it a priority in any new MMO to build up that cash reservoir.  What about you?

8 thoughts on “I’d rather have the money, thank you

  1. trouble is, it always seems to make more sense to sell raw materials and take the money. I like crafting but I always feel like an idiot for doing it.

  2. Under normal circumstances in normal games, you are generally rewarded with more money for leveling your crafting, as the profit margins people sell at start becoming ridiculous (600g glyphs in WoW, for example). This is completely warped in GW2 however, in the broken vendor+1c economy it has. Or had, at least, before I stopped playing. When you have the volume of items spewing from mobs combined with ulterior motives for crafting (i.e. easy XP), crafting indeed makes zero sense.

  3. Az has the right of it. About the most useful thing you can get from crafting in GW2 is exp. Cooking, artificing, and jeweler in particular are all super cheap and let you shortcut 10 levels a pop.

    Very handy for alts. Unless you actually like the leveling game that is.

  4. I feel a weird sense of satisfaction when I’m wearing a piece of epic gear that my character made himself. Yes, I could have bought that “Helm of the Epix Lootz” from the auction house, but that just doesn’t seem as satisfying as grinding the crafting skill, acquiring the rare materials, finding the rare recipe, and clicking on “craft”.

  5. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again. The GW2 AH is a buyers’ market, works as designed in a game devoid of scarcity, especially when Gold can be converted to Gems, which is ANet’s income. Only those people who expect to play the market and make a profit think it’s broken. ArenaNet wants you out there adventuring, not watching lists. Having said that, vendor+1c is silly, since the AH takes a cut. But no one says you have to sell your stuff at that price. THose that want it “right now” will pay.

    What does all that mean for GW2 crafting? Yet another game where crafting is barely an afterthought. At least you can level up a little while doing it. TSW has the only crafting I’ve gotten into, because I don’t have make a bajillion copper pants to skill up. However, it’s still a “mats market,” and the “Tier Gear” is not generally craftable.

  6. In most games, I’ve made a killing by being willing to farm low-level mats, which always sell for dramatically inflated prices as people try to powercraft past it. WoW, LOTRO, STWOR… I solely funded our family guild by farming low-to-mid level materials to sell.

    The global auction house in GW2 killed that. There’s such a massive supply available that there’s no hot spot to play. The only massively profitable items are the Legendaries, which is more like gambling than working the market.

    I’m honestly not sure that it’s any better or worse than another market. I’m also not entirely sure it’s actually a buyer’s market – most of the time I put something up, undercutting by even 1 copper means it sells in less than a minute, no matter what it is I put up. Maybe there’s just that much volume moving on the market, but I suspect there are a ton of bots working low margin trades.

  7. As much as I like the money, I tend to be the opposite and hoard my materials. In most games I have played, I economically fall into what I consider the middle class – I don’t have exorbitant amounts of money, yet I make enough from quests, dailies, dungeon loot, etc. to live comfortably. Plus, I tend to be that guy that people know will have the mats, and I end up crafting things for guildees and friends.

    Unless you are going for the master crafter achievement, I would agree with previous posters in that crafting mostly benefits alts (either in the form of raw xp or as a source for armor upgrades). I actually used the raw materials I collected to help level up my alts in combination with completing maps and personal story. I now have all 8 professions to max level because of it :) However, I do plan on selling lots of mats soon since I need the cash to start saving up for my legendary.

  8. There has been exactly one time when I enjoyed being a crafter; on my first toon in WoW. Herbalism and Alchemy allowed my fledging mage to solo tackle content I couldn’t have done otherwise.

    I would call myself a reluctant crafter. I faithfully hoard materials as I level my toons, intent on using them to level up professions on others. Usually this never happens and my bags and banks bloat with all manner of things.

    This article has, I think, inspired me to admit to myself that I hate the time and inventory management related to crafting an just let my inner gatherer free upon the landscape. I’m much happier out in the world levelling and exploring anyway. I don’t know why I fought it for so long.

Leave a Reply

