My MMO journal

quest logA few days ago I started up an MMO journal — a spreadsheet, really, to keep track of what I’m doing and playing on any given day.  It’s something I’ve thought about doing for a while now, and after a few days of using it, I’m glad I created it (I’m also kicking myself for not doing it a while ago).

It’s pretty basic, really.  The idea is that every day I’ll log what games I played and what I achieved or worked on in that title.  This isn’t going to be for Bio Break posting or anything, but just for personal use.  I think it’s going to help me stay more balanced between the games I’m playing, be able to see at a glance what I was doing last time, and have a visual record of my characters’ progress through MMOs.

I can see this being particularly helpful over a long period of time.  Say I leave a game for several months and then return — the journal will show me what I was doing last and help with that reentry process.  It’ll also be interesting to see what my MMO habits look like over the span of a year or two.

Do any of you keep a similar play journal?

5 thoughts on “My MMO journal

  1. I’m using Raptr as my gaming log so to speak. While it may not have the exact “dashboard” view of a spreadsheet, it does sync with social media and allows you to write a short summary of your gaming experience for each gaming session. You don’t have to broadcast this out to anyone, you can adjust your settings to be more private or just use a private social media account. Anyway, it serves as a record without making you work so hard to actually record your “fun”. You also get the meta tracking benefit of raptr and become fully aware of just how much time you spend on games.

  2. Soon to have 10 alts in LOTRO i need to track them somehow and I love Excel so a possible solution springs to mind…duh!

  3. I use my own blog for this a bit. Not in this much detail but just to see what I’ve been playing and in what combination. If I haven’t posted about one of my main MMO rotations for a while then it usually spurs me to log back in for a session.

    I daresay I could happily do a spreadsheet like this as I tend to make them with little encouragement but that’s a project for when I have more gaming time and ‘admin’ time I think…

  4. I have multiple spreadsheets I use across multiple MMOs… but never considered a “journal”. Hmmmm. Most I use to keep track of what monies I’ve spent on them and some game details (like duty officers in STO). I use Raptr, too, but I might like the at-a-glance that a spreadsheet would give. Of course, I also don’t usually play multiple games at a time. Just one. /sigh

Leave a Reply

