Making bank in RIFT

basnkI’m not all about money, but I don’t like to be broke in MMOs either.  I think I’ve stated before that I would rather pursue the acquisition of wealth — usually by gathering mats and selling them — so that I can buy what I want instead of fiddling about with crafting systems.  So when I returned to RIFT a couple of months ago, I was dismayed that I was nearly broke.  Well, if 70 plat is nearly broke.  It felt like it.

Unlike LOTRO, there’s always something to spend money on in RIFT at any level, so getting more moolah was important.  What I settled on has made me around 600 plat in a few weeks, and while I don’t know if that’s great or not, it feels pretty good.

So here’s what I do.  First of all, I got the BananAH addon that helps to automate auction house research and posts.  It basically scans the AH, figures out the best price for everything, and then helps you post your stuff at a price that will sell.  I loved having this sort of mod in World of Warcraft too.

Then I pretty much just sell artifacts.  I have tons of pets already, so I’m not so concerned about filling out artifact sets.  So pick up artifacts through general adventuring, daily login gifts (while my year subscription lasts), fishing (yes I fish, but that’s another post), and dutifully using the RIFT mobile app every six hours for its lootables scratchers.  The end result is a nice stream of artifacts to sell, and sell they do.  Many of them are piddly sales, like around a plat or so, but once in a while I hit a jackpot and sell one for 100 plat or more.

This means I’m no longer in the poorhouse.  It’s a nice feeling.  For any of you that play the RIFT auction house, what do you find that sells good?

4 thoughts on “Making bank in RIFT

  1. Heh.
    Been playing RIFT for a lil while now. And been doing exactly the same. Artifacts artifacts artifacts. Just picking up whatever i come by, and selling on AH has meant a decent income.

  2. I was buying and selling artifacts for a while after F2P. With Trion supposedly working on a companion system,and several companions (pets) locked behind artifact collections in some way, I’m not sure whether to be a seller or a holder right now. Bags seem to sell for good plat, so I’ll probably make some of those while I level my outfitter past 300.

  3. Wow…I must be super poor then. I only have around 50 to my name for my Defiant Cleric. My new Guardian has less than 6. I will have to find another way to get rich, because the artifact thing hasn’t really ever worked for me. I still have a whole second set from one of the in game events, and the price never got up high enough for me to consider putting them in the AH. Granted the economy is different now, but I have a bad tendency of collecting said artifacts. Right now I’m comfortable with the 1 plat or so I make every day doing dailies in the capital.

Leave a Reply

