SWTOR: Of Ewoks and murder-droids

treekCompanions are a big draw of SWTOR to me, although I do wish that you could have two out at a time so that they could bicker in typical BioWare style.  In returning to the game, I’ve given my companion roster some thought on both my Bounty Hunter and Operative, and decided that I need some fresh blood in both.

For my lowbie Bounty Hunter, who just has good ol’ Mako, I’ve bestowed the gift of a psychopathic possibly lore-breaking Ewok: the new companion Treek that came out this week.  I figured having a second companion would really help in the early game, plus I’m all for parading about something slightly ridiculous that generates nerd-hate from people who take things a little too seriously.

Treek’s pricey (either way you acquire her), but so far she is worth it to me.  Her introduction is pretty funny, setting her up as a battle-mad murderous ball of death, and she only gets better once you see her animations.  Swooping in on a hang glider as a charge?  Tossing giant heal balls at you?  Hey, it amuses me.  Plus, her addition to the roster’s allowed me to send Mako out on crew missions.

Treek is kind of interesting in that she has either a healing or a tanking stance, without a DPS stance.  I’m fine with that.  I’m a Powertech, so I’m always in the market for a good healer.

Over on my Operative, I really want to get HK-51.  I mean, HK-47 was just about the best thing in KOTOR, especially for the dialogue, and I’d love to go through the new expansion with a similar model at my side.

Our guild’s Thursday night group started working on getting HK-47 last night, and after seeing the first half of the process, I have to say that I am so glad I was in a group for it.  There are group quests and a lot of tedious searching involved.  I’m down to four parts left right now, although two of those are in the flashpoints, so hopefully we’ll be getting together to finish that up later on.

Going through all of this has made me think about how much I’m going to appreciate that droid when I finally get it.  I mean, the lazy part of me thinks, “Gee BioWare, I paid to open up Section X, so just gimme the companion already!”  But then I was pondering if the devs set up these tedious quests and assembly tasks not just to be a timesink, but because of the IKEA effect.

The concept behind the IKEA effect is that you tend to appreciate and enjoy something you put together yourself, even if it’s more time-intensive and annoying initially.  Because it’s the “fruit of your labor,” as NPR puts it, you love it more than if you just bought it outright.  I think there’s something to that.

Anyway, here’s hoping that I’ll be hearing sly comments about meatbags in the near future!

5 thoughts on “SWTOR: Of Ewoks and murder-droids

  1. Are there really that many people shouting “lore-break!” at those poor little ewoks? I’ve yet to encounter them.

    Still need to get mine but am looking forward to it already. I hope there is a good ewok companion story when you get her. ^^

  2. I’ve heard a lot of ewok hate in general, but not so much nerd rage over the lore. A lot of people seem to call her Tweek instead of Treek as well—whether that’s a simple typo that’s gained popularity, or whether it’s because it seems more fitting for a companion that’s constantly stabbing a stimpack into her side (the hot/cleanse ability), I’m not sure…
    Drug addiction aside, however, I love my bad-ass little ball of fluff :)

  3. I’ve always hated the little furry bastards, so I can’t really say I care much for the companion. Now if they sold Ashara Zavros in the store for all my characters then I’d be on that like shit on a stick dipped into a pile of shit.

  4. I had really mixed feelings about the HK quest line the first time I did it, because I absolutely loathed the searching for parts. I did feel very accomplished at the end though. And when I did it a second time on an alt later, it didn’t seem nearly as bad.

    (Btw, I do like how your new gaming schedule means that we can expect at least one post about a given game on a specific day of the week. Predictability for the win! :))

  5. The only IKEA effect I know of is the one that keeps me and every male acquaintance I have out of the store and permanently hating them for how much money gets spent there – if not on furniture, then on coffee and meals.

Leave a Reply

