Master of Orion: Stalemate

(This is part of my journey playing through Master of Orion.  You can follow the entire series on the Nostalgia Lanes page.)

I gotta say, I’m starting to feel really good about the game right now.  I don’t think the AI is advanced enough to ask for a cease-fire in order to sucker me, so I’m assuming that the Alkari have taken enough hits (plus a lost planet) that it’s starting to really put the hurt on them.  That means the advantage is all mine.  MINE.

sneakattackOr maybe not.  The Alkari send me a message that they’re freaking out over me building up arms on their border, and a big fleet of theirs is heading back toward Ysharros.  O RLY, birds?  I think not.

Whew, false alarm.  I guess what happened is that the AI sent the fleet out before the peace treaty, so the second it gets to Ysharros, it turns around and goes to Spica.

Hm.  Spica.  Looks tempting.  Time to press my advantage, I think.

Here’s the little welcoming party that I send down to Spica:

myfleetThe Mrrshan and Darloks both sue for peace and I grant it — it doesn’t hurt to have a peaceful galaxy.  Y’know, for one more turn.  Yes, I’m humming the Ride of the Valkyrie in my head, why do you ask?

Ack… when I get there, there’s a small speed bump: Spica has 16 planetary defenses built up.  And since all I have are the KTRs with nukes, I’m probably not going to be able to take them without getting seriously banged up.  I need bombers and lots of them.  So I retreat and start production on the Teppo-class bombers.  Meanwhile, everyone declares war on me again, because that’s just a fashionable thing to do.

While I prepare for the usual Ysharros defense, Ocho is destroyed.  Again.  Seriously, Ocho?  Can’t you go a day without getting blow’d up?

All in all, this quick game session has felt like an enormous stalemate to me.  I have the firepower to press the offensive, but I need to get enough of those bombers in my fleet so that they can take out the planetary defenses.  It’s going to take time.

2 thoughts on “Master of Orion: Stalemate

  1. If it wasnt for FFXIV’s early access launch you would have definitely got me to play some MOO2.

    Now, exterminate those birds !

  2. Pingback: Master of Orion and Syp: A Tale of Humanity | Casual Aggro

Leave a Reply

