Forget Hearthstone, Card Hunter will fill the CCG void in my life

Yeah, I’m still a little peeved that I seem to be one of like three people who haven’t gotten into the Hearthstone beta, but never mind: Card Hunter just announced it’s going live on September 12, and I’m like “Hearthstone who?”

(Not that I won’t play it.)

This is one of my big “must have’s” of the year based on my time in the beta, and I cannot wait to get in and collecting gear, stomping enemies, and reliving my non-existent PnP D&D days.  Everyone says that the completely free option is pretty generous, but I’m excited enough to want to buy the basic edition special for $25.  Maybe that’s just the heat of the moment talking, so we’ll see.

Anyway.  So pumped up for this!  Just wish I had it on a tablet for the plane tomorrow.

9 thoughts on “Forget Hearthstone, Card Hunter will fill the CCG void in my life

  1. I haven’t heard of card hunter, but I was excited about hearthstone. I just have too much going on right now to beta it. I’d rather just wait for a solid release date. I will definitely check out this card hunter thing.

  2. I’m am #2 of those 3 who haven’t gotten into the Hearthstone beta. I has a sad.

  3. I too have yet to Hearth the Stone. Really excited about it.

    Never heard of Card Hunter but looks interesting enough. Like the table-top look.

  4. From the screenshots on the web site, it seems Card Hunter really captures the table top atmosphere. Looks fantastic!
    But I fear it might be difficult for casuals and people (like me) that have no experience with this kind of card games, because it seems to be more complex and to have more depth than Hearthstone. In principle, depth and complexity are a good thing for a game, but in PVP games it creates problems: to enjoy the game you are forced to learn a massive amount of stuff because you mostly play against people that either have played the (type of) game for a long time or are just investing an enormous amount of time and energy that you can’t or don’t want to invest.
    Anyway, looks like a game worth checking out.

  5. Card Hunter isnt this hard to play, most of it is self explaining! And you can first check out the solo campaign with a tutorial integrated :) Besides ‘how to’s’ in the forum, a wiki and so on that should be more than enough so that nearly everyone can have and success with this new & exciting, very well made game!

  6. Ty Smurf. I’m surprised the game even has single player content. Sounds like a great way to get into the game before battling other players. I’ll definitely give it a try.

  7. Pingback: WoW TCG, Hearthstone, and Why They Aren’t the Same | Tastes Like Battle Chicken

Leave a Reply

