Last shortie standing

I’ve never been a big-numbers kind of guy.  Chasing the DPS dream is fine for some, but when I look at my current crop of characters, one theme stands out: survivability.  My Templar in TSW has a purple tanking headpiece for an extra 2000 health and has four emergency healing/shielding skills on hand.  My Engineer in GW2 has specced and geared full-on flametank, with constant regeneration coupled with loads of toughness and vitality.  My Captain in LOTRO is, well, a Captain.  She just doesn’t die, ever.

For me, trading the big numbers for slightly-less-big numbers is really worth it to me.  It’s invaluable in soloing, and even in group situations I like to think that it helps the team because I’m not face-planting as much or being a big drag on the healer.

Survivability and durability is attractive because I do want to be the last shortie standing.  I don’t usually go so far as to become a tank, but if there’s a way to do half-and-half, I’m there.  If the fight takes an extra five or 10 seconds because of it, that’s a trade-off I’m willing to make.

3 thoughts on “Last shortie standing

  1. Tesh October 7, 2013 / 12:14 pm

    I’m of a similar mind, though I wonder what raid leaders might think about it. I get the sense that some will push for more optimization of the trinity role.

    Then again, I play a Druid in WoW, and love the ability to step up and “offtank” if the occasion arises. I want to be flexible and durable enough to take a pounding in a pinch, whether it’s to save my own hide or the rest of the team. The “glass cannon” DPS style never did appeal to me.

  2. Llokki October 8, 2013 / 4:50 am

    I’m exactly the same. Despite not being a particular fan of the tanking role, I seem to gravitate towards tanky classes. The Riftstalker in Rift, Warden in LOTRO, Guardian in GW2…
    Just that “never say die” feeling of invulnerability you get while 5 mobs are pounding on you with little effect while you whittle them down and dispose of them one by one.

  3. gazimoff October 8, 2013 / 8:20 am

    I think my own play style is changing. During my time in WoW, I was all about playing the glass cannon. Now that game systems are moving over to a more active combat style, I prefer something with a bit more armour and a little less damage. Maybe tastes change over time, or maybe I’m just adapting to my own decaying reflexes.

Leave a Reply

