9 thoughts on “Poll: Which wild card classic game should I explore next?

  1. morganic October 21, 2013 / 2:23 pm

    How exactly is Torchlight a “classic” game? It came out in 2009.

    Colonization all the way.

  2. HarbingerZero October 21, 2013 / 2:29 pm

    With Star Citizen madness reaching a fever pitch lately, a tour through Privateer is the way to go.

  3. ChaosConstant October 21, 2013 / 2:29 pm

    Torchlight 2 is definitely in my top 5 favorite games. The first one is nearly as good, but didn’t draw me in as much. The story isn’t much, but the gameplay is great.

    Also I have to agree that it isn’t exactly retro.

  4. bhagpuss October 21, 2013 / 4:55 pm

    What’s a “wild card” game?

  5. Syp October 21, 2013 / 5:40 pm

    It’s a “not RPG/adventure game”

  6. Zombiepirate October 22, 2013 / 4:23 am

    Definitely voting for Privateer, I loved that game.

  7. mbp October 22, 2013 / 8:08 am

    I too cry foul on Torchlight. Not only is it to recent to be called classic it is also too rpg like to qualify as a wild card. It has character classes and levelling mechanics, it has quests and dungeons and loot. How much more rpg can you get?

  8. Brian 'Psychochild' Green October 22, 2013 / 6:16 pm

    I’ll add my voice about Torchlight not really being a classic. I’m already getting old enough, no need to rush things to claim they’re older!😉

  9. Syp October 23, 2013 / 10:34 am

    I guess my terminology wasn’t clear here. I just need an “everything else that’s on my GOG account” category, and a few of those games are more recent than not. So maybe I need to drop the “classic” moniker.

Leave a Reply

