LOTRO: A change of scenery

sceneryBig day, yesterday, for us LOTRO folk.  After a two-day delay, Turbine launched Helm’s Deep and with it the second half of Rohan, the epic battle system, and the biggest overhaul of classes the game’s seen to date.

I felt that this was the best time for a change of scenery in more ways than one.  On Tuesday, I said goodbye to my kinship, The Council of the Secret Fire.  No big drama or fallout or anything, it’s just that over the past year, I realized that I didn’t know most anyone in the kin as my friends had left, and it wasn’t quite as active as I’d like.  I figured that it was time for a fresh perspective with a new kin, especially as I headed into the expansion.

So I applied and got accepted into The Lonely Mountain Band, as they have a pretty good reputation on Landroval for friendliness and organized group activities (they’re the folks that put on Ales and Tales and Weatherstock).  The application and interview process was a little longer than I normally care for, but if it pays off with a great kin, then it was worth it.  So far, everyone’s been welcoming and the chat was absolutely bustling last night as regulars, returners, and new folk heeded the expansion’s siren’s call.

I’m formulating my first impressions of the expansion for a piece on Massively, so suffice to say that the combination of new kin, new lands, and class overhaul have gone a long way to making LOTRO feel fresh and exciting once more.  I honestly didn’t want to log off — Rohan is drop-dead gorgeous and I didn’t get that much time to test-drive my new class builds.

Sometimes when you’ve been in a rut so long that you don’t realize you’re in a rut, you have to take bold steps to freshen things up and get a new perspective.

8 thoughts on “LOTRO: A change of scenery

  1. Where is the mirror? Lalia’s?

    Odd but true and indicative of the state of play in TCoTSF…I didn’t know you were a member!

    Best part of getting on yesterday was playing around with the trees and the new mini game that results of ‘sorting out the short cut bars’ afterwards!

    Had some fun with my Captain’s trees (2 of them…1 normal DPS and one a little radical Tanky DPS)…I took my new tree for a test drive and simply drove over the Orcs I encountered…this morning in a more qualitative test I popped into the ‘training hall instance’ and boy was I surprised how easy it was! So easy that halfway through I was confident enough to charge up to the Battlemaster, which draws in all the remaining mobs and I was able to walk away without a scratch…overconfidence may lead to misadventure but tomorrow I will attempt what was before unthinkable…I will walk calmly up to the Battlemaster and take em ALL on!

  2. My champion is slicing through above-level enemies to the point where I feel sorry for the orcs. I imagine that Turbine will nerf this. Although I enjoy being the invincible dwarf of justice, I can’t say that I would blame Turbine for scaling it down a bit.

  3. There seems to be a general upscaling of awesomeness as part of the class revamp. My current character is a lowly level 60 burglar, deep in Moria at the moment, but the brief play I had with him using the gambler build he was going through orcs like a cheap burrito through your digestive system :)
    Possibly the most overpowered feature – I now get healed every time I evade an attack. Not that gambler burglars evade very often or anything. Still, I guess Turbine made sure this ability was balanced because it can only proc once per second :D

  4. Glad to have you with us in the LMB. :)

    I’ve heard quite a few people talking about how overpowered they feel at the moment. I wouldn’t be surprised if Turbine intentionally left the class skills tuned a bit high for this update, to counteract some of the natural anxiety that comes with such sweeping change.

  5. The idea of applying and being interviewed to join a kin is kinda scary. Strange that they had a lengthy process for you as presumably you are well known from your blogging.

  6. Pasduil – if I was running a guild/kin/corp in any game (which, at the moment, I’m not) and I had an application process (which I would), and somebody who was ‘internet famous’ wanted to join (which is pretty darn unlikely), I would make sure they followed the exact same process as all of the other guild members. Doing otherwise is bound to cause resentment from the lesser mortals even if the internet celebrity wasn’t going to act as if they had a swelled head (which I’m pretty sure Syp wouldn’t). The best way to deal with guild drama is to not let it happen in the first place.

  7. I guess I’m not too familiar with guild dramas! Thank God.

    I figured the answers to the interview questions would already be known. i.e. He is a grownup, has been playing the game for a while, etc. Curious as to why it would be *lengthy* process for anyone.

Leave a Reply

