What I want in a WildStar collector’s edition

artWildStar’s “spring” launch window is seeming closer than ever, although we’re still in for a bit of a wait even so.  After my time in beta, the one answer that I want to know is, what will be in the collector’s edition?

I think there will be a good chance that there will be a CE, although in what form it will appear is anyone’s guess.  We could get just some sort of beefed up digital package, your typical $70-$90 CE, or one of the more recent pricey $150 editions.

Here’s what I’m hoping we’ll see with a WildStar CE:

  • Full Soundtrack: Oh my goodness, I am in love with WildStar’s music and it will devistate me if we don’t get a complete score.  This really needs to happen or I will be a one-person picket line outside of Carbine Studios.
  • Cosmetic outfits: Sure, throw in one or two full cosmetic outfits so that my new character can start out in style.  I’m all for that.
  • Housing exclusives: Lots of love is being given to the housing system in this game and the potential for digital extras in this area is huge.
  • Hoverboard: I have my level 10 everyone-in-beta-gets-one hoverboard and I don’t want to go into the release without one.  If it could be pink with “MATTEL” written on it, that would make the Back to the Future fan in me quite happy.
  • Nexus Secret Decoder Ring: I would put this right next to my wedding ring, I would.
  • Extra inventory space: This isn’t glitzy but I have always appreciated games that include extra inventory space for beginnings.  It’s always useful!
  • Artwork: Since I’m in love with WildStar’s art style, a few lithographs or posters would be very welcome.

Past that, I’m pretty open to extras.  A “making of” book or DVD would be interesting but it would be a one-time thing for me.

12 thoughts on “What I want in a WildStar collector’s edition

  1. Wait, beta players get a Hoverboard? Is this just during beta or a gift to take into live? Because if it’s the latter that’s not entirely fair considering the randomised nature of beta invites. D: Still, nice list. Soundtracks in CEs should be a given, really, and artbooks. But like the idea of extra inventory space (which I always loved in Rift) and housing bonuses.

  2. If the hoverboard is permanent, I have some leveling up to do this week ;)

    I don’t believe much in digital goodies from CEs personally – although I don’t mind pets so much. what I really want from a CE is the soundtrack & artbook. maps are nice too….more cloth maps plz.

  3. The hoverboard is permanent/goes with you into live, but it’s not really a huge deal I don’t think, we just save a little bit of in-game money is all. And chances are they’ll continue to give them away during open beta as well, in which case everyone will have a chance to get one.

    +1 for the housing exclusives. The only other game I know of that has had those is EQ2.

  4. (and it’s only usable at lvl 10 for beta. During live it will be like a normal mount and not usable until 20).

  5. So long as there’s an open beta that also gives the chance, I’m okay with it. Don’t even mind if the only way to get it is to buy a $150 CE, so long as technically it’s open to anyone at some point. My two cents! :)

  6. So much of WildStar going around, and i still don’t feel hyped up. Do i need to see a doctor? :D

  7. The Highwayman’s Outfit and the Hoverboard will be given to Beta Testers at launch. Assuming that you play until level 10 in beta (for the hoverboard) and play once a week for 4 weeks (for the highwayman’s outfit).

    Mind you, this is likely still going to be offered with the open Beta down the road as well.

  8. @Sylow Carbine isn’t really pushing the game too hard. A very controlled level of excitement and media coverage. When they have something to show, they post about it, etc, but they’re not trying to get the hype-train going full steam until they have a solid release date and have a lot more to show.

    I think they’re doing this right.

  9. Actually the advertising engine and hyping the community over blogs is in full action. My personal analysis simply is that the chance for another 3-monther is quite high. So i’ll rather wait for release, wait for another 3 months or so and have fun in TSW. When those 3 months are over and the game actually still is catching interest, i might take a look.

  10. Yes! Agree with everything you say here. (Even the secret decoder ring)
    Although I haven’t been in beta, I’ve been watching all the livestreams and YouTube’s faithfully.

    Here’s a few other things they could offer that might sweeten the deal. Any number of these would be great, but I’ll have to weigh out the price versus what we get:

    1. Bonus C.R.E.D.D.
    - I’ll be subscription for sure, but I’m assuming you’ll still need C.R.E.D.D. to purchase dyes, unlocks, minipets, housing items etc. It’s a no-brainer IMO.

    2. Exclusive mini-pet
    - similar to the mount concept. I’m guessing mini-pets will play some kind of “show off” role in the game. Perhaps a corral in your housing plot?

    3. Exclusive Dye packs.
    - Always a good thing. Just look at Bioware and the Galactic Starfighter paint jobs they’re offering

    4. Some kind of social trinket
    - We usually see these kind of things in CE editions. Whether it’s a floating disco ball, confetti cannon, or perhaps a vending machine that dispenses utterly useless but fun items?

    5. Exclusive zone or vendor access
    - We saw this in SWTOR, where there was a “Lounge” and a vendor you could only access if you were a Digital Deluxe or, in the case of the Lounge, CE purchaser. Although I’m not a fan of paying-for-segregation, it’s often a hot enticement for those wanting that exclusivity.

Leave a Reply

