Let me just check my (play) schedge

schedI was strongly toying with the notion of adding SWTOR to my play schedule (curse the allure of expansions!), but I don’t think I can in good conscience try to tackle more than four MMOs at a time.  While mulling over this, I sat down and sketched out a schedule to try out in order to balance the four games I do want to be playing (taking out STO and subbing back in LOTRO), with a play emphasis on WildStar and RIFT.

The idea is that every day I usually get at least two hours of playtime — sometimes a little more, but usually two.  Two divides by two easily, so I’ll focus on giving two games a day one hour apiece, which is my usual play session length anyway.  If I end up with more than two hours, the rest is free for whatever.  Here’s what I’ve come up with:

  • Sunday: WildStar / LOTRO
  • Monday: RIFT / TSW* (*weekly play group)
  • Tuesday: WildStar / LOTRO
  • Wednesday: RIFT / TSW
  • Thursday: WildStar / LOTRO
  • Friday: RIFT / TSW
  • Saturday: WildStar / RIFT

RIFT is the quickest game to jump in and out of, and TSW is the longest, so I think that those will balance well.  I do want to get back into LOTRO to go through the Dead Marshes, prepare for central Gondor, and perhaps do a new Beorning class.  Plus, this gives me one fantasy and one scifi/other MMO every night.

Saturday, the “extra” day gives both RIFT and WildStar an equal boost to play time.  Although I’m a little bummed that I’m giving up Star Trek Online for the time being, I feel pretty good about this schedule.  We’ll see how it pans out.

6 thoughts on “Let me just check my (play) schedge

  1. Shintar October 13, 2014 / 2:06 pm

    I’m trying to remember whatever happened to the last “MMO schedule” you drew up here…

  2. Syp October 13, 2014 / 2:52 pm

    hah… don’t try to think too hard! I embarass myself a lot with these plans. It’s just what I’ve been thinking lately.

  3. HarbingerZero October 13, 2014 / 3:27 pm

    I don’t know how you only play an MMO for an hour at a time. The only game where I could get anything accomplished in an hour was STO, before they took out all the exploration content.

  4. Green Armadillo October 13, 2014 / 3:57 pm

    I also do not have a job writing about multiple titles and therefore can’t really see myself forcing myself to cut sessions short just to cover more games that day. If later it turns out that left to my own devices I’ve spent 90% of my gaming time between December 2013 and September 2014 playing Marvel Heroes, /shrug, what are people going to do, /unfollow me? However, I am slowly settling into a rotation of sorts due to the increasing (ab)use of scheduled events in non-subscription titles. Heroes of the Storm every other day to clear out daily quests, certain world events in Marvel Heroes, and other similar things are going to occupy some slots on the calendar and likely bump other things to the side.

  5. Pasduil October 14, 2014 / 10:53 am

    > I embarass myself a lot with these plans

    Even if you don’t stick with such plans closely, making them is at least a good reality check on how much you can hope to accomplish. e.g. Like you say, just a look at a possible plan can make it crystal clear that there’s no realistic way of fitting another game into the mix.

  6. Lonegun October 14, 2014 / 6:05 pm

    Good luck friend. I play whatever sounds fun for the moment and end up messing myself up when I think I can squeeze in a couple of Battlefield 4 matches before bed.

Leave a Reply

