TSW: Don’t fear the dead, fear nothing

or1After the Christmas Conspiracy mission last month, I took some time off of The Secret World, although I anticipated coming back to really tear into Issue 10.  I had a bit of a setback one day when a few side missions kept kicking my butt — mostly due to impossible-to-kill mobs and repeated deaths.

But here we are, deep in the Orochi projects (one of the new Kaidan areas) going through the main story mission.

or2I came across a playground for the Happy Smiles day care (one of Orochi’s things) and my character found something… quite puzzling.  A kid with gigantism (an oversized head) on the seasaw by himself.  While my character never speaks, I have to say that Funcom does an excellent job letting my body language talk for me.  There are a few excellent bits in this cutscene that show hesitation, morbid curiosity, fear, and… well, one last one that I’ll talk about in a bit.

or3This is Jung, and even though he’s only four years old, he talks like a professor and has mental powers.  He’s also got poor emotional control, because he’s only four years old.  You feel bad for him and a little wary at the same time.

or4Dang.  This line gave me chills.

or5I like Jung, if for the fact that he actually does a good job spilling some key exposition and tying together plot points that may or may not have gone past the player.  The whole Morninglight/Fear Nothing/Atun/Orochi connection has been pretty apparent in the game, and all of it is absolutely nasty.

You know how I make fun of how much Orochi gets killed?  This is Syp-in-game talking here, but good.  I’m glad they do.  Because this is an organization that, among its many other sins, has conducted extensive experiments, torture, and kidnapping on kids.  And they so need to pay for that.

or6or7or8I want to add that this bit here bowled me over.  This is why TSW excels at storytelling in ways that other games… man, they can’t even imagine it, otherwise they’d try to do it.  But at the end of Jung’s speech, he crows about how he’s finally top dog in the playground… now that everyone else is dead and he has powers to keep the filth dudes away.  You hear his power, but then you see his extreme loneliness and sadness.

Who will play with Jung?  Who will love him?

My character raises her hand to push the seesaw down, but Jung uses his mental abilities to do it instead.  And my character walks away, leaving this little boy going up… and down in a tomb-quiet playground in the middle of a city of corpses.  Argh, I wanted the option to take him along with me.

or9And that’s just the opening cutscene for this main story mission.  The actual mission skews to an investigation format, where you have to solve clues to find the next clue, and so on.  It’s cleverly done — not too easy, not too hard — and encourages exploration of the projects.  My only complaint is that the mob density here is way, way too high.  In fact, I would be totally find with no mobs whatsoever here.

or10The scavenger hunt led to this, a secret door that goes into another Orochi place, The Clubhouse.  Flashbacks to The Nursery and Virgula Divina made me pause and then log out for the night.  I don’t know if I’m ready to go into another lab of horrors.

7 thoughts on “TSW: Don’t fear the dead, fear nothing

  1. Miss Mojo January 6, 2015 / 12:37 pm

    Gotta go download this now. The stories and puzzles are truly awesome in this game, good game for a casual like me to play. Esp now that eoe is finally deleted from my pc.

  2. Tyler F.M. Edwards January 6, 2015 / 12:46 pm

    Orochi Projects is Hell. The mob density there is out of control. You should have tried it pre-nerf. I much prefer the docks — that’s a very cool area to explore.

    The Clubhouse isn’t as bad as the previous Fear Nothing mission or the Nursery, but it’s still not a place I’d choose to vacation. Very minor spoiler: There’s a side mission in there where you collect messages left by the dead for their families, and some of them are pretty heart-wrenching.

    Also, try dancing on the Dance Dance Revolution machines in there.

  3. bhagpuss January 6, 2015 / 3:06 pm

    “I wanted the option to take him along with me”

    You’ve read “It’s a good life”, right? Or at least seen the Twilight Zone version? Are you sure you want to do that? Really sure?

  4. Syp January 6, 2015 / 5:03 pm

    Just because a kid is damaged doesn’t mean that kid is unworthy of being loved!

  5. Sylow January 6, 2015 / 5:28 pm

    @Tyler F.M. Edwards: the Dance Dance Revolution machines there can be used? I didn’t try. Thanks for the clue, got to take a look. 🙂

  6. Aywren January 6, 2015 / 5:59 pm

    This is why I love TSW. I haven’t reached this part in the game yet, but I’m looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

