World of Warcraft: Remembering Syp

In my past World of Warcraft career, I had several characters who transcended the extras tier to become near and dear mains. There was my first character on launch day, a Dwarf named Chark. A Druid named Echoes. A Hunter named Ghostfire.

But in all truth, it was a little gnome Warlock that defined my experience in WoW. I even saw her briefly a few months ago when I loaded up the game for a trial. We exchanged pleasantries and I told her that I was happy she still lived in Northrend even long after the world had moved on. She likes it there.

Flash back to October 2006. World of Warcraft had been out for a couple of years and I had clocked many hours in it before taking an extended break to play some other titles (most likely City of Heroes). Once the burnout faded, I decided to return and start fresh with a new character. Following my personal maxim that MMO character names shouldn’t be more than three or four letters (since that’s all people will type in chat anyway), I slammed some random letters together and created the very first Syp.

Syp the Gnome Warlock spent several months working her way up through the vanilla content (this was pre-expansions) while connecting with a terrific guild called Time Well Wasted. She was also an engineer, and I painstakingly leveled that profession up to get some of the cool toys and gadgets that came with it.

I fell in love with the Warlock playstyle more than any other in that game. The combination of powerful DoTs and an array of pets was a heady mix, and there was nothing I loved more than to see my pint-sized gal flinging spells on bad guys and have their damage numbers continually tick down afterward. I was never big on the voidwalker, but I did rotate through the other three — the imp, the succubus, and the felhunter — and enjoyed what each of them brought to the table.

Sometime in December, my guild agreed to help me run a dungeon to get the warlock epic mount. It was one of my best memories in World of Warcraft, that night. The run was tough and the fight took some time, but at the end of it I emerged with my brand-new epic mount in an era where epic mounts were something of a precious rarity (and only Warlocks and Paladins had quests to get theirs).

Then came the Burning Crusade in January 2007. We were psyched as all get out, and I got the special tabard for doing the opening of the portal event. Syp jumped into Outland and really came into her own. Probably the best change was her brand-new pet, a hulking felguard that did terrific damage. I loved sending that fella to smack down anyone who looked at me cross-eyed. It almost felt like cheating.

Syp had a good run throughout 2007. She geared up well, ran dungeons regularly, and even experimented with raiding with the 10-man Kara. I crafted her flying helicopter-thing, which remains one of my favorite mounts of all time (it had a hula dancer on the dash!). And she did a great job in groups pumping out DPS and bringing some utility when needed.

Unfortunately, Syp never really made the transition into Wrath of the Lich King. I started giving more attention to my Hunter, who was the one who got through most of that expansion, while Syp got parked at the docks where she remains to this day. Soon, I burned out of WoW completely and a subsequent reunion grew less and less likely as I and the game moved on in separate directions.

Still, I’ll always have a fond spot in my heart for that three pony-tail’d Warlock. She and I had a great time together, fighting the good fight, and not taking any crap from players who hated on Gnomes.

Leave a Reply

