Fallout 2: Putzing around in the wilderness

(This is part of my journey going checking out Fallout 2. You can follow the entire series on the Retro Gaming page.)

The votes are in, and two-thirds of you elected to see me continue my adventures in Fallout 2 for my retro gaming project. So be it!

Before I head to Vault City and continue my GECK quest, I thought it would be interesting to spend a session wandering around in the wilderness to see if I could trigger any of the special encounters (especially as I have my outdoorsman perk to help with that).

her1Ah, here we go! I bump into a hermit. Who promptly tells me — in his weird way — that he wants to be left alone. Well, okidoki then! In a subsequent encounter, I see him fighting off wild dogs. Should I help? I’m tempted to blow him off the way he did to me, but nah, I’m a nice guy. Four dead dogs, you’re welcome Mr. Hermit!

As an aside, “I Hermit” would be a great follow-up to “I Robot.”

her2In another encounter, Vic gets mauled into a corpseburger by deathclaws. Here I am running away from the fight like the utter coward that I am.

her3Many, many, many reloads and generic encounters later, and I finally trigger my first true special encounter: a dead whale that went splat all over the landscape. For those not in the know, this is a reference to the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, in which a whale pops into being a mile or two above a planet, has a lot of thoughts, and then dies brutally once it lands.

The neat thing is that once you get a special encounter, a location pops up on your map so that you can revisit it if so desired.

But that’s really it: An hour of random wanderings and only one good special encounter. Sorry folks, thought there’d be more! As far as I can suss out, these encounters are influenced by your luck skill. The outdoorsman perk gives you more encounters, the option to skip some, and perhaps more of a chance for a special as well.

2 thoughts on “Fallout 2: Putzing around in the wilderness

  1. Stropp May 26, 2015 / 11:22 pm

    Oh No! Not again!

Leave a Reply

