Fallout 2: Take me down to Vault City where the grass is green and the girls are pretty

(This is part of my journey going checking out Fallout 2. You can follow the entire series on the Retro Gaming page.)

v1Welcome to Vault City! This is a jarring shift to what we’ve seen in the game so far; Vault City is “pristine” with nice streets, a greeting office, razor wire, automated turrets, guards, and what looks like an outdoor holding cell. So I’m guessing that its good looks come at the expense of freedom. We shall see.

Curiously, no one is actually inside the greeting office. So I decide to greet myself by lockpicking the desk and lockers and grabbing the goodies within (including a geiger counter!).

v2A lady is crying in a tent nearby, and after hearing her literal sob story, I get a better picture of what Vault City is about. It purports to be a free town, but it locks up its people for just about any offense, lives on a slave system, and bows to the omnipresent guards. Gonna have to fix this, I see. And get her her husband back.

In a shack, I bump into Ed — the guy who sold Vic the Vault 13 water flask. I interrogate Ed about its origins, but receive a list of a half-dozen potential towns as answer. However, Ed does mention that Vault City sits on a vault and that its computer might tell me where Vault 13 is. I guess I’ll stick around then!

v3I pick up a couple of other quests — to get radiation medicine for a sick guy, a plow for a farming family — and then head into the bar. In a stroke of luck, the bartender Cassidy is extremely disgruntled with the higher-ups of Vault City and totally willing to leave his job to join my crew. Despite his admission of a bad heart condition, I’m scarcely going to turn down another party member. We swap weapons, so I have his sawed-off shotgun and he gets my trusty pistol. Let’s do this!

v4I find the local trader and procure a plow for the farmers (for a whopping $800, ouch). After that, I go on a bit of a shopping spree, picking up metal armor and a ton of ammo in exchange for the random goods I’ve been hauling around. This is great; now I have a shotgun as a primary weapon and a Desert Eagle as a backup. Sulik is going to stick with the sledgehammer, while Vic gets my old leather armor and half the pistol ammo and Cassidy gets the other half. I feel like I’m finally in charge of a fighting force. Of course, it’s going to take a lot to keep this unit rolling in ammo, but that’s a problem for another day.

v5Actually, where I was at before wasn’t Vault City proper, but merely its courtyard. To get into the real place, I’m going to need citizenship papers or a day pass. I strut into the customs office and deal with a toadie wearing the iconic vault jumpsuit. He’s willing to sell me forged papers for $200, but I think I have a better idea. I talk to his boss and use my awesome speech skill to run circles around him, eventually netting me a free day pass.

Most Irregular is my middle name. It’s time to head into a vault and see what we can see…

Leave a Reply

