The Secret World: Get to my choppa!

y1It has been a little while since I last played my Templar — since I finished the Orochi tower for the first (and so far, only) time. I’ve been meaning to get back on her and do more tower runs, but y’know, time gets away from us.

So I made it a point to tie up some loose ends last night, starting with a return trip to Richard at the Templar HQ. Richard was getting the living stuffing beat out of him by Pit and Pendulum, two new thugs that the game did not let me attack. Alas.

y2I guess that even within the supposed “good guys” faction, there are jerks and divisions. Richard says that the old guard is not too pleased that me — the new guard — is on the rise with my methods. Oh well, I will deal.

As an aside, I really like how cool I look with this hat and pose. I am in love with this hat.

y3Turns out that Orochi isn’t that pleased with me either, as its media arm has declared me one of the Tokyo bombers. Because that makes sense, as I wasn’t even part of the secret world when the bomb went off, but oh well.

Is it just me, or does the newscaster’s model look really off here? Like his head is too small for his body/suit? And why is he standing behind that desk instead of sitting?

Richard advises that I lay low for a while, which is Funcom’s polite fiction for “it’s gonna be a wait until we get new story content out to you.” I did get a free barbershop and plastic surgery coupon, but I’m pretty happy with how my character looks, so I’ll save those.

y4Next up on my to do list was to buy the new DLC for the motorcycle. Yes, $20 is pretty pricey and perhaps a little too much, but I don’t mind supporting The Secret World. Plus, when I consider that it unlocks across my entire account, its worth increases.

Anyway, the DLC unlocked a short mission with Moose back in Kingsmouth. Moose! Been a long time! He pontificates on how much he used to love being on the road, and he’s even started building a “frankenchopper” behind the station. Not sure why he’s doing that when there are cars, scooters, and motorcycles littering the island, but we all need hobbies!

y5Moose gives me the bike to fix up. At first it’s in really poor condition, driving slower than my character can walk, and I have to take it all the way to the scrapyard. At certain intervals, waves of zombies knock me off the bike. Of course, they’re all one-hit kills to me right now. Outta my face.

After finding some parts, the bike moves faster — and even more so when I get some nitro for it. What I love about finishing this quest is that it bumped me up from Sprint IV to VI automatically.

Gotta say, I love the bike. It’s a little weird that it’s the only vehicle in the game so far, but it feels great riding it around. Popping wheelies after jumps is pretty sweet too.

y6And yes, I had to create a new outfit for my hog. I don’t think I’ll be the only one doing this.

After the excitement of getting the bike, I had to check out another one of yesterday’s additions, which was the achievement vendor. I was pretty jazzed to have a purpose for achievement points, but when I looked at what the vendor had to offer I felt a bit let down. He’s not exactly brimming with wares, and the ones that I couldn’t buy weren’t huge incentives to grind out more points. Still, I got a couple of costume pieces and a gadget that hits enemies back when they hit me, so I’m not going to complain too much.

Back to the Orochi tower!

3 thoughts on “The Secret World: Get to my choppa!

  1. Aywren June 4, 2015 / 9:51 am

    I’m really enjoying my bike, too. I’m curious if you have to reach a certain sprint level before you can get it on alts, though. I have a few alts that I’ve made long ago, but haven’t even reached Kingsmouth yet. Wonder if they’d be able to pick up the bike and use it from the start.

    I’ve been curious about the new player experience, so maybe it’s something to try out when I find the time. I need to check out that achievement vendor, too!

  2. Sylow June 4, 2015 / 11:30 am

    Note on “laying low”: you actually are supposed to do that. If you are on this step of the mission and run around in the “old” areas, you can get some debuff that you are being tracked and after a little while, a bounty hunter turns up and tries to kill you.

    It didn’t happen to me yet, though, it doesn’t seem to be a frequent event, but if you go AFK for some hours, expect to be dead. 😀

  3. Syp June 4, 2015 / 12:21 pm

    Neat!

Leave a Reply

