Marvel Heroes’ birthday extravaganza

marvThere are MMO anniversaries and then there are MMO anniversaries. Marvel Heroes might just put them all to shame with its month-long celebration that has many gamers talking and cooing with delight.

Everything kicked off yesterday with a major patch that introduced the terrific Team Up 2.0 system, The Thing review, all heroes unlocked to level 10, the abolition of respec potions, and a playable Doctor Doom. When I logged in, there was Doom as far as the eye could see. So many Dooms. So many.

I did pick up Doom for my roster, although he might be taking a back seat for a little while. I’m pleased to see that he has a summoner tree, so I’ll definitely have to give that a try. I also got a Spider-Man Noir costume from one of the fortune cards that came with him, so that’s pretty sweet too.

We also started getting the first of many presents, with a cupcake 2.0 and an escalating XP bonus for the next week. My cupcake had a lot of potions and currency inside, nothing to write home about but nice nevertheless.

The presents upcoming have me far more excited. Next week Gazillion is giving everyone a free hero of their choice (except Doctor Doom). I had assumed this would just be a random hero token, but no, you can pick out a desired hero. Holy crapola. That just made my day. I am a little torn on who to get, with Iron Man, Emma Frost, and Nightcrawler all competing for my affections. Of course, I’m feeling a little greedy saying that, as I haven’t even fully played all of the characters I have so far.

Then we’ll be getting a free team up character and a pet later on in the month, on top of other in-game events. It’s going to be a blast and I think it’s going to prove to be a siren’s song to those who haven’t played or been in the game for a while. Free stuff is hard to resist!

As for me, I’ve been diligently leveling up Cyclops. I dinged level 50 earlier this week and got his awesome +10% XP synergy, but I decided to keep on going to level 60 for even more XP bonus. I also used the recent set of events and all of their extra drops to feed the enchanter. As a result, I have fully leveled enchanter and crafter vendors at my service. That feels good.

Past Cyclops, I feel a little frozen as to what to do. I still need to work on Squirrel Girl’s gear (I’ve been, erm, squirreling away uniques for her) and finish out her superheroic story line. Scarlet Witch, Rocket Raccoon, and Rogue are all on deck to be main-worthy heroes, and I have enough Odin’s Marks for another legendary. Then there’s Doom and Thor and Colossus and plenty of others sitting in my roster waiting for a turn.

I also have plenty of team up heroes to level now as well. Wasp, Arachnae, Holiday Groot, and Domino are all in my rotation, as well as the occasional Spider-Man (my kids clamor for him to make an appearance).

So a good time to be a Marvel Heroes fan indeed. Happy birthday!

10 thoughts on “Marvel Heroes’ birthday extravaganza

  1. M.C. Barnes June 5, 2015 / 9:33 am

    I’m really thinking of giving this game a try. And being able to pick a free hero of my choice next week makes me want to do that now.

  2. Braxwolf June 5, 2015 / 9:49 am

    I’m in the same situation, I’ve got several heroes, none of which are anywhere close to cap, and I’m having a tough time deciding whether to go with Deadpool, Star Lord, Spiderman….so many cool heroes!

  3. Green Armadillo June 5, 2015 / 9:55 am

    The thing that’s odd about Gaz is that they are insanely generous in some ways that no reasonable player could have asked for. In addition to the free hero next week, I get another free pre-Doom hero this week because I already owned all the “starter” heroes in the game when we went to the current “free to 10 and then one free unlock to 60” system and thus I never used my free “unlock”. There is absolutely no way I should be entitled to two free heroes this month given that I also got to benefit from the free heroes that were available when I started, and have gotten several added splinter grants as they evolved the system over the last two years.

    (Note: Use your freebie on Iron Man, he costs 50% more than the others on your list as a relic of the game’s launch era “charge more for characters people actually want to play” business model.)

    Then you turn around and realize that they’ve balanced the team-up experience curve around 5 hours of grinding cosmic level 60 terminals per team-up. I own 15 paid team-ups (plus another 4, soon to be 5, that I got without spending dollars or G’s), and my grinding time to unlock all the skills on my existing purchases (that I had full access to until yesterday) is going to be even higher because the exp is level based and I spend most of my time playing new characters. So basically I’m wrong to want to buy more of the things, because I’ll never finish the ones I already have. And, as always, there are crazy sales going on that include stuff that is less than a month old at prices lower than what people who committed up front to the year-long presale bundle paid. Oh, and the entire roster through 2014 is on sale for $130 again (where I paid $130 just for 13 of the 15 who launched in 2014).

    I can’t think of another game I’ve played that does more to make you think “gee, I shouldn’t have spent that much money…”

  4. ingvai June 5, 2015 / 10:51 am

    I am with Green Armadillo on the free hero selection. Although Iceman is on the top of my “want” list, I think I am going to spring for one of the 600 splinter heroes that I don’t have – probably Dr. Strange or Ghost Rider. I am sitting on a ton of splinters and a ton of heroes I still have to level, so might as well make my free hero choice go as far as possible.

    As for who to level next, I loved leveling Rogue. With the free respecs now, it would probably be even more fun.

  5. Athie June 5, 2015 / 11:48 am

    Just FYI: Nightcrawler is a hero you should probably wait a bit to play. Right now he’s sorta a glass cannon that shoots water balloons type experience.

  6. HarbingerZero June 5, 2015 / 12:38 pm

    Will you consider doing a post on Arachnae at some point? She looks fascinating, I’d be interested in your experience using her as a Team Up.

  7. Syp June 5, 2015 / 1:17 pm

    Will do, I’m still learning about her, especially with the changes. I picked her up because I thought her outfit looked really cool. She’s more like spidey with a whip than anything.

  8. Llokki June 6, 2015 / 11:38 am

    I can vouch for Rocket Raccoon (particularly with the enhanced movie skin) and Scarlet Witch as great characters, and I second Athie’s opinion on Nightcrawler. I just took my teen Nightcrawler into Midtown Madness for a spin the other day and I found myself constantly doing one of three things: 1. Wondering if I’m actually attacking anything; 2. Wondering why the thing I’m attacking is taking so damned long to die; 3. Running away with a sliver of health. It’s a shame, because he’s one of my fav X-Men.

    I’ve been trying hard to decide who I’m going to pick for my free hero too. I’ve given at least half of the available roster a shot so far, and come away loving some I wasn’t sure I would, and disliking some I thought I’d love. So far Squirrel Girl seems to be a strong contender, but at the same time I’m not sure I want *another* summoner (much as I love the playstyle), as I already have Rocket Raccoon and Loki. Ah, choices choices.

  9. Llokki June 6, 2015 / 11:44 am

    Oh, just one thing I wanted to add. Marvel Heroes actually inspired me to pick up a comic book. I haven’t read comics since I was a kid, but playing this game, with such a huge roster of heroes available makes me want to know more about them. But yeah, I actually grabbed a copy of the first Young Avengers because the character of Wiccan (enhanced skin for Scarlet Witch) intrigued me and I wanted to find out more. Makes me curious as to how many others this game may have inspired to read comics again (or for the first time).

  10. talismanAU June 8, 2015 / 10:02 pm

    The unlock all to 10 has been great. I am taking a break from Cyclops and Iron Man to try some other heroes.

    Emma Frost was ok. The pet angle was cool but her attacks didnt inspire me. I am trying out Gambit next. His flips and distance attack should keep me entertained.

Leave a Reply

