Fallout 2: Going out with a bang

(This is part of my journey going checking out Fallout 2. You can follow the entire series on the Retro Gaming page.)

z1OK, time for a chain-of-events recap. My village is dying, so I need a Garden of Eden Creation Kit. The kit is theoretically in another vault. I need to find another vault. I found a vault, but it’s already used the kit. However, it may have info about other vaults. But before I can access that info, I need to become a citizen of Vault City. To become a citizen, I need to go fix a problem with mutants or somesuch polluting Vault City’s water.

Sigh. OK. Got it. Let’s roll out to Gecko, gang!

z2So Gecko is pretty much the opposite of Vault City. It’s ramshackle and filled with people who are more or less burned to a crisp (and yet still walking around). They call me “smoothskin,” and I am totally going to own that phrase.

z3GAH! I mean, you’ve got a face with character!

These are the ghouls, the descendants of the population of Fallout 1’s Necropolis. Some of the ghouls even remember the original vault dweller, because in exchange for looking like freaks, the radiation’s extended their lifespan well beyond the normal. Unfortunately, Gecko is swimming with rads and Vault City won’t lend the medicine to help. Looks like we might have a compromise in the making.

z4Best quote of the game right there (it’s in reference to the tree growing out of Herbert’s head).

Herbert also says that they need repairs and fuel on one of their big thingies, with the part located at Vault City and the fuel from Broken Hills. I can see the quest forming. I can smell the quest forming. But you know what? I think I’m about done. No offense to a great game, but all of this will take considerably more time and interest than I have right now. Plus, I’m a little tired of the whole running back-and-forth for chores.

So why not go out with a bang? I’m going to head back to Vault City and shoot my way into that vault or die trying. No save games. No reloads. Just one hot run.

z5The moment of silence before I pull the trigger. I actually have butterflies in my stomach. No going back now!

z6In the first round, we get a few good hits in, but there are a LOT more guards than I anticipated, and one of them clean blows Cassidy’s head off.

z7With the odds like 15 to 3 against and my team taking fire like crazy, I abandon my plan and make a dash for the vault entrance. Strangely enough… it works! I hit the zone transition and we make it in while the guards can’t follow. Whew.

z8OK, I’m not proud of this, but apparently we’re stuck as hostile to everyone and so I had to kill the defenseless medical staff. What a hero I’ve become!

The rest of the vault is devoid of people apart from a single terrified servant (I am not forced to shoot him, if you were wondering). We half-heartedly plunder the place, but I do end up getting access to the info I desired.

z9The long and the short of it is that I get the location of another vault to check out. There’s also a pretty funny story resolution explaining that every vault should have had TWO Garden of Eden Creation Kits, but our vault got excess water chips instead (which prompted the crisis of the vault in Fallout 1).

Great to have the location, but there’s no way we’re getting out of here alive. We can’t jump to the world map and there are too many guards between the vault and freedom. So with visions of famous last charges, we run out blinking into the sunlight, take a few potshots, and get gunned down.

The end.

All in all, a wonderfully fun return to an old favorite. It even made me want to reload Fallout 3 and New Vegas, both of which I never finished. Hm. Someday, perhaps. Or I’ll just wait until Fallout 4. Thanks for reading, all!

3 thoughts on “Fallout 2: Going out with a bang

  1. SynCaine June 9, 2015 / 2:44 pm

    Fallout 3 main quest is like 20 hours, maybe less. How have you not beaten in…

  2. Zombiepirate June 10, 2015 / 5:00 am

    Probably because it’s Fallout so you go exploring and do all the side quests you find before even thinking about finishing the main quest.

  3. tsuhelm June 10, 2015 / 8:04 am

    Good stuff 🙂 I wonder what is next….

Leave a Reply

