Marvel Heroes: The unbeatable Squirrel Girl

SquirrelGirl_400-mtv-1423695600Ah, Squirrel Girl. There never will be a hero such as you in Marvel Heroes. Let the other players enjoy their dour Punishers, their over-the-top Dooms, and their lingerie model Emma Frosts; I’ll be happy hanging out with a chipper superhero who can’t be put down.

Over the past couple of days, I’ve returned to Squirrel Girl and made an effort to properly prepare her for high-level content in Marvel Heroes. I realized the need for some serious work on her when I took her to Cosmic Midtown and she could barely step out of the door before being defeated.

After doing a bit of research to see what others had done with their summoning build SGs, I started putting together an outfit and build to bolster her strengths. Actually, I was already halfway there with some of my artifacts and uniques, and I lucked out by having a couple of rare ones stashed in my bank. That’s why pack rats rule! I jacked up her health, giving her about 80% more than she already had, and vastly increased the damage of her squirrel summons.

I’m not entirely happy with the build itself, as it’s a borrowed one that omits a couple of skills that I had grown to enjoy. Maybe it’s more DPS efficient, but I think I’m going to go back to my old setup, maybe with a couple of tweaks.

After having spent a couple of weeks on more serious heroes like Cyclops, it was truly welcoming to step back into the goofy shoes of Squirrel Girl and hear her hilarious quotes (I particularly love how she taunts all of the Doctor Dooms that she previously bested). The new gear paid off splendidly as I blitzed through the remainder of the superheroic version of the story (SO glad to have that done).

What next for her? There are a couple of uniques and artifacts that I need to chase down, including one that will require me beating Doc Ock about 500 times. I definitely need a lot more Omega Points, runes, and blessings, so there’s work to be done there as well. The adventure never stops when you’re nuts!

Happy Free Hero Day, by the way. After some deliberation, I’ve decided to pick Psylocke. I already have pretty much all of my “must have” heroes, so for now it’s just selecting what strikes my fancy. I used to think Psylocke was all that back in the 90s (who didn’t?) because Asian ninja with butterfly powers. And her playstyle looks interesting, so why not.

I’ll leave you now with this awesome Squirrel Girl tribute song, which I played on a loop while I was gaming last night:

4 thoughts on “Marvel Heroes: The unbeatable Squirrel Girl

  1. ingvai June 11, 2015 / 9:10 am

    With the dual spec set-up, I usually have a cookie-cutter build on one, and my fun, play the way I want to play on the other. In all but the toughest content (cosmics and red raids), you can probably get away with doing whatever you want, especially now that you’re gearing up.

  2. Wilhelm Arcturus June 11, 2015 / 9:26 am

    I almost have my daughter convinced we need to get LEGO Marvel Super Heroes for the PS3 based on Squirrel Girl alone.

  3. ChaosConstant June 11, 2015 / 11:19 am

    “That’s why pack rats rule!”
    Don’t you mean pack squirrels?

  4. Llokki June 11, 2015 / 11:09 pm

    Hehe, awesome song 😀

Leave a Reply

