Guild Wars 2, I think this is where we part ways

standardEver since the initial announcement of Guild Wars 2’s first expansion, Heart of Thorns, I’ve been very much on the fence about it all. Little of the subsequent reveals interested me — elite specializations, masteries, the new class, and especially Super Platformy Jungle Zones. I have a history with the game and an appreciation for its casual playstyle and gorgeous art, but the longer I’m away, the less enticing it’s becoming to go back.

Last night ArenaNet revealed the pricing for the expansion and invited players to pay now for content they’re not going to get for… months, probably. Pre-ordering is one thing, but pre-purchasing, well, I’ve got to want that so bad I can taste it.

Lots of hubbabaloo over the pricing for the expansion, which begins at full-game-cost $50 and jumps up to $100 if you want some extras and a half-off deal on gems. $40 is my usual acceptance limit for expansions, although it fluctuates with my interest level. Right now the price for Heart of Thorns is about $20-$30 more than I’m willing to pay.

However, that’s not to say that this is scandalous pricing. Fifty bucks is fair for a game that hasn’t charged a sub and operates under a pay-once-play-forever policy. I agree with those who say that even the standard edition should come with an extra character slot to accomodate the new class, but apart from that? Fine. It’s less than four months’ subscription to WoW or WildStar or FFXIV.

There’s also the issue of bungled communication over this announcement, particularly in how the expansion comes bundled with the core game — a week or two after Anet had been pushing oh-so-hard to sell the core game at a discount. Refunds or discounts need to happen here. And calling it a “prepurchase launch”? Oh come ON. That’s intentionally confusing and PR speak to the highest degree. It’s all created a bit of a mess when this announcement should be nothing but excitement among fans.

Ultimately, I feel like it’s time to get off the fence part ways with Guild Wars 2, at least for now. There’s lots of other games that I’m far more interested in, and I haven’t really played GW2 for months and months now. I don’t want to pay a big chunk of money for an expansion that has little for me and will probably send me into a terminal case of the grumpies. So I’m bowing out and letting everyone who’s excited have their time of joy without my additional commentary.

5 thoughts on “Guild Wars 2, I think this is where we part ways

  1. Aywren June 17, 2015 / 10:03 am

    Yep. Writing a similar post about this this morning. Feeling much the same.

  2. wolfyseyes June 17, 2015 / 10:08 am

    I’m in the same boat, as I was casually leveling a Necro once in a while but just could not surmount the design of the title. This pricing scheme has put the kabosh on the whole thing for me.

  3. Tomeoric (@PuckByter) June 17, 2015 / 12:08 pm

    So I’m about half-way to level cap in this game, just randomly playing it in the course of all my games. I’m no where near needing this “new content” – so what happens if I don’t buy the expansion? Will I be forced to buy it to continue to play, or will I just have to unlock it when I finally need to, similar to LOTRO zones?

  4. bhagpuss June 17, 2015 / 2:46 pm

    Good overview. As things stand I will be buying the Standard version for one of my three accounts. I might buy the pre-purchase but it would only be so I can blog about the beta. I am quite prepared to pay money for access to something just to blog about it – depending on my mood its the blogging about them not playing the games themselves that I see as the core of my hobby.

    I am actually not convinced I would even be interested enough to blog about HoT beta though – I feel I might have other things to write about that would be more interesting to me. If so I’ll just wait until launch and buy it from Amazon or whoever then. I have trouble of thinking of any other time I was so uninterested in an expansion for an MMO I was actively playing – especially a first expansion.

  5. carson63000 June 17, 2015 / 9:29 pm

    I was expecting to buy Heart of Thorns as soon as it came out. But I don’t think I will now. GW2 is a game I play on-again-off-again, and right now I’m in an off-again phase. If the expansion was a reasonable price I would probably pre-purchase it and count on that to get me into an on-again phase once it launched.

    But at $50 I think I’ll just let it pass me by, and see what we see in the future in the way of sales and discounts.

Leave a Reply

