Marvel Heroes: Big 10 withdrawal and Ant-Man incoming

doopAfter the ending of Marvel Heroes’ second anniversary month celebrations AND a whole week of Big 10 events, this week has felt downright lackluster in the game in comparison. I’ve seen mention of it in the chat channels as “Big 10 withdrawal” or “Big 10 depression,” and I get that (tongue-in-cheek, of course). One gets used to loot exploding out of every game orifice — even more than usual — and then gets a little bummed when that doesn’t remain the new norm.

I tried to take advantage of Big 10 as much as I could, mostly by continuing to run Squirrel Girl through cosmic terminals in her quest to get that darn Octobot Controller. 420 runs so far, nada. At least number 500 isn’t too far away.

Even though I haven’t seen that unique drop yet, it was a wonderful week even so. I got so many cosmic worldstones that I was able to buy a new pet (cosmic doop, top right), and one of the free fortune cards I got from the events spat out a STASH Access Card pet. It’s a pretty stupid “pet” in the looks department, but it does have stats AND functionality as a portable bank, so I’m willing to overlook it.

One of the terminal runs also rewarded me with my next must-get unique, Spear of the White Gorilla Tribe, so I was able to scratch that off my list. Really, I just need the controller (and I don’t *need* it as much as want it), toss on a couple more blessings, and… I guess she’ll be pretty kitted out. Need more relics and omega points, but that’s just clean-up, really.

I do feel as though I’m swimming in team-ups. The advance pack I bought a couple of weeks ago has already gifted me with Quicksilver, Angel, and Sam Wilson, and that’s on top of the nine I already owned PLUS the new Iron Man Mark 2. Leveling them up seems a lot slower than leveling up my heroes, for some reason. I don’t really mind, except that some of the team-ups’ voice cues are more annoying than others, and some (Iron Man, I am SO looking at you) won’t shut up.

antsI was toying around with pre-buying Ant-Man for his upcoming release. It’s about $16 and change right now, which feels high for a character that I know nothing about, including what his playstyle will be. Looks interesting tho, but then, I have plenty of heroes that already need my attention. I don’t really mind slowly saving up eternity splinters to pace out the accumulation of new heroes, because it’s not like I’ve exhausted all of the content or even leveling on the ones that I have.

I heard that Ant-Man will go for 400 splinters, so perhaps the better course will be to simply save up for him as my next purchase. I only have 362 more to go!

It will be very interesting to see how Gazillion handles Ant-Man’s powers. Some heroes pose a much more difficult task of converting into the game due to their powersets. I heard that the devs have pretty much ruled out super-speed characters (like a playable Quicksilver) because the system couldn’t handle it in a multiplayer setting like this. So how do you portray a character who shrinks really tiny? I mean, he grows too, and that’s not hard, but what… do you give players the ability to become three pixels tall and use a magnifying glass to keep track of their avatar?

If he has ant summons, though, I am so there.

6 thoughts on “Marvel Heroes: Big 10 withdrawal and Ant-Man incoming

  1. Llokki July 7, 2015 / 11:15 am

    Between the Big 10 withdrawal and the nerf to Rocket Raccoon’s summons build (the same patch that seemed to turn Iron Man Mk II’s comment frequency up to 11), I’m feeling the need for a bit of a break from the game.
    Apparently Ant Man will be hitting the test centre this weekend, so you’ll probably be able to find a review of him on Youtube soon after.

  2. Syp July 7, 2015 / 12:04 pm

    Iron Man needs to shuuuuush

  3. Triski July 7, 2015 / 7:03 pm

    I played MH exclusively during the anniversary month, had a blast getting a bunch of new heroes to 60, and accumulated so much stuff I don’t know what to do with it all! So many chests and cakes to open, that thinking about it just gives me a headache.

    I’m taking a break from it (and all games really) for a couple weeks. I”ll log into games that give daily presents, but that’s about it. It’ll be refreshing to come back into them when I’m ready.

    PS Iron Man MK II – way way too chatty. Yeesh.

  4. kiantremayne July 8, 2015 / 5:04 pm

    So Tony Stark has a mouth on him. And in other news? 🙂

  5. Syp July 9, 2015 / 9:22 am

    Heh, the mouth is fine, but his team-up is spouting quotes far too often compared to most team-ups. I think it’s a glitch.

Leave a Reply

