FFXIV: The new MMO feels

There’s something interesting that’s been going on with me since trying out Final Fantasy XIV these past few days, and I think I finally put my finger on it.

I’ve been getting this warm, peppy feeling while going through the low-level zones and quests but couldn’t quite account for it. The game’s not THAT great, at least not yet, and as I’ve previously established, the Final Fantasy trappings alone are not the pull that they are for others. So what was it?

And then it clicked, because I realize that I haven’t had this particular feeling in a long time. It reminded me a LOT of my first week or so in World of Warcraft back in 2004, when the game felt fresh and mysterious and really atmospheric to me.

And FFXIV, for all its good and bad so far, is doing a bang-up job evoking that same feeling of being a neophyte in a strange world. Maybe it’s because I’m forced to take it at a slower pace and soak up the details in a way that I didn’t in other MMOs (where you zip through beginning zones). Maybe I’m just over-glorifying the new car smell here. But I like it and I’m going to soak in it for a while.

7 thoughts on “FFXIV: The new MMO feels

  1. bhagpuss July 8, 2015 / 12:51 pm

    You didn’t get that feeling in Wildstar? Or TSW? What’s different this time?

  2. Aywren July 8, 2015 / 12:54 pm

    Glad you’re enjoying it! One thing FFXIV does well is world building. If you need anything, just shout! 🙂

  3. melbrankin July 8, 2015 / 2:57 pm

    It has its very well detailed world – a weird one with giant chickens and strange floating things etc but its consistent, well connected and has great zone music 😀

  4. carson63000 July 9, 2015 / 1:56 am

    I soaked in that feeling for two weeks. Then two weeks later I realized my free month had expired, and that I hadn’t logged in for two weeks, nor felt any desire to.

  5. Syp July 9, 2015 / 9:22 am

    Bhagpuss — I think what I’m trying to convey is that there’s something very atmospheric and environmental going on that I am responding to on a different level. Kind of how I felt going around in LOTRO’s Shire way back when. It’s probably the slower pace and more pastoral lands that’s contributing.

  6. Colin July 11, 2015 / 9:07 am

    I got the same feeling too man. I personally thought after so many years I really was starting to burn out on MMOs but when I got into FFXIV I got this amazing feeling like when I first played Final Fantasy 11 or like Everquest 2 back in the day. The game draws you in because the detail of the environment and how it doesn’t make you rush through any content imo. If you are any kind of Final Fantasy fan this is like the ultimate homage game to the series.

  7. Chestnut Stonebough (@ggchestnut) July 23, 2015 / 12:03 pm

    I felt the same way jumping into FFXIV, and feel that way whenever I find the time to hop back in. There’s just something about it that evokes the “glory days” of your MMO experiences.

Leave a Reply

