WildStar: What my outfit says about my mood

Right now on my Engineer in WildStar, I have five costume slots (and that still isn’t enough!). I’ve been slowly working and refining several outfits, and today I wanted to show them off and talk about what each one says about my current mood when I’m playing the game and choose to wear it.

c1This is what I informally call my parkour outfit, with half-gloves and half-shoes thing leaving fingers and toes exposed. I really dig the shirt design and am glad that it gave me those patches of pure white on the sleeves, since I don’t have a white dye right now. Dark grey/dark red/white creates a medical motif (and the gun is grey/red/white too).

I choose this outfit when I’m into how my character moves and is doing a lot of hoverboarding or running around the landscape. It’s slim and trim, without shoulderpads or a helmet, and it’s definitely the most “athletic” of my closet.

c2This is my football padding outfit. Not sure I’ll keep it, to be honest. Slightly chunky, a bit like a winter outfit, especially with the ski goggles. I’m on the fence about the color scheme too, although it’s not terrible. If I’m wearing this, then it’s probably to rework it.

c3This is my “rag-tag” outfit. It’s weird and the shirt looks like it’s made of bandages, while the boots are the biggest, bulkiest I have. And then there’s the dome hat, which sets this apart in so many ways.

I’ll pick this outfit when I’m feeling a little exotic and on the fringe. I don’t need to look the shiniest; I just need to wear what works. She’s an engineer who jury-rigs things, after all.

c4This is my practical, everyday work outfit. I am very pleased with the color scheme and have always liked that half-jacket thing. I’ll wear this if I’m at a default, neutral state and want to feel like a normal adventurer.

c5I got this chest piece a few weeks ago and fell in love with it. This is my elegant outfit for when I’m feeling… I dunno, elegant, I guess. What? Guys can feel elegant.

It’s slightly fancy and feminine, but there’s something cool about watching her run around in this and still blasting the crap out of bad guys.

5 thoughts on “WildStar: What my outfit says about my mood

  1. Rowan July 9, 2015 / 9:24 am

    RIFT?

  2. Syp July 9, 2015 / 9:38 am

    haha WHOOPS — that’s what I get for writing this right after working up a RIFT post for MOP.

  3. ironweakness July 9, 2015 / 12:05 pm

    That last one really is nice. I always like seeing what people come up with costume wise, but I rarely spend time looking at them in game or working on my own. That’s where Twitter and blog posts are nice, I get to focus on the characters people are creating instead of the game.

    I’ve had in mind to do a similar post with my various Trove class appearances. One of the recent patches changed the system so that you can have a different preset look for each class, not just the costume and gear skins but the actual face, hair style and color, and skin tone. I’ve had a lot of fun with that.

  4. Chestnut Stonebough (@ggchestnut) July 23, 2015 / 11:21 am

    I’m not good at costumes, but I like trying to play around with them. I love all of these–they’re pretty awesome!! 🙂

  5. Rowan July 23, 2015 / 11:37 am

    Y’know, thinking about the last outfit again, I totally understand what you mean by “there’s something cool about watching her run around in this and still blasting the crap out of bad guys.” My Sith Marauder in SWTOR sports a long skirt that looks badass as she flies into battle with a Force Leap. Meanwhile, my Sorceror (Sorceress?) is running around in trousers, because who says a mage has to be in a dress?

Leave a Reply

