When do you play MMOs?

failWe’ve often talked in blogging circles about the pros and cons of juggling MMOs vs. being devoted to a single title, but one thing I haven’t seen so much discussion on is when we play.

For me, my gaming schedule is fairly predictable and boring. While I’m going through my morning routine before work, I usually log into games to hit up daily rewards (Marvel Heroes) or to reset minigame timers (crew skills in SWTOR).

During my lunch break is when I squeeze in a half-hour to work through the retro games for the weekend posts.

Back before Massively I used to have more time in the late afternoon to game, but not so much these days. Even so, sometimes I’ll get in a half-hour before dinner depending on if the kids are sleeping or otherwise preoccupied.

But most of my gaming time comes after the sweet hour of 8:00pm, which is when the rest of my family heads to bed (my pregnant wife cannot wait for this time). Then it’s a race to get in as much gaming as possible before I start nodding off at the keyboard, which could be as early as 10:30 or as late as midnight.

Sometimes I get a decent block of gaming time on Saturday, my only free day of the week, although I have to make sure that chores and family time gets priority.

So if I was to time it all, I’d say that on an average week, I probably clock in around 16 to 18 hours in MMOs. Maybe 20 to 25 if it’s a really good week with few distractions. It’s not huge, but I do try to make the most of those five or six hours in each title to get as much done as possible and enjoy myself.

I think my pre-kid, pre-marriage self would be somewhat horrified to see that weekly tally. I was probably in the high 50s back in the bachelor era. But I wouldn’t trade all of this for that extra time. I’ll merely look back wistfully.

What about you? When do you play MMOs?

13 thoughts on “When do you play MMOs?

  1. Aywren August 12, 2015 / 11:57 am

    It depends on what day of the week it is. Some days after work I’ve set aside for things like errands, some evenings I’ve locked in as times I work on specific creative projects. Days where I don’t have anything lined up, I can be gaming as early as 5:30-6:00 PM. Later nights, It’s probably not until after 7-8. Maybe even as late as 9.

    I try to shut things down at about 11:15 at the latest, though weekends I can game as late as I please. I’m still a night owl at heart. 🙂

    Weekends are a little more free for all, but I still work on creative projects on both Sat and Sun. So, it’s various times of day on the Weekends, depending on how late I sleep in, and what friends/family are up to.

  2. jameshateswordpress August 12, 2015 / 12:11 pm

    I like how you say “Saturday, my only free day of the week” even though you are playing games in the morning, at noon, late afternoon and in the evening on weekdays. lol

  3. David Andrews (@proceduraldave) August 12, 2015 / 12:34 pm

    My schedule is even more pared down than yours! I don’t typically have time to do anything before work and usually don’t even manage a lunch break. By the time I get home it is family time for a solid 4 hours, then rounding up everyone and getting them to bed, catching up on misc. chores, etc etc.

    Long story short: On a typical day I get about 2 hours in, from 930 to 1130pm – although sometimes that is truncated to as little as 30 mins if I’m particularly tired. Weekends are even worse~

  4. kevinbrill August 12, 2015 / 12:54 pm

    *If* I’m lucky, then I’ll get 15 minutes in the morning while the house is still quiet to get basic crafting dailies done. But my core time is like your Syp, in the evening after everyone has gone to bed. My typically time is usually late at night from 11:00 – 01:00, but it all varies based on how early or late my wife stays up, since we’ll watch TV together until she goes to bed. I’m an East Coaster with West Coast gaming hours.

    Like you, before my wife, weekends were non-stop gaming. I spent most all of my waking hours gaming, and shifted my work schedule to come in later so I could raid with my (mostly) West Coast guildies. Now I have much better balance, and a beautiful wife and daughter, so I’ve got no problem not going on gaming benders any more. 🙂

    And I built an app that tracks game time, just because I was curious how much time I did spend playing. Here’s a link to my profile: http://tempusgameit.com/users/profile/kevin

  5. Rowan August 12, 2015 / 2:07 pm

    As a mostly empty-nester (youngest is 17 and lives with her mom), I have few child rearing responsibilities. Plis, I have the benefit of a spouse who also games. So once errands and basic chores are complete, I have a lot of time in the evening. Working in an office means weekday morning and lunchtime game sessions aren’t really feasible, though I usually find time to work on blog posts. Weekends are usually wide open. Earlier this summer, I was gaming almost as many hours as I worked. But for the past few weeks, I’m way down in the teens.

  6. Hoppy August 12, 2015 / 2:35 pm

    I have dedicated play time for 2 hours on Monday with my LOtRO crew, and maybe 4-8 hours the rest of the week. That 8-10pm time is my sweet spot too, but I only only log in 2-3 nights in a week…

  7. dachengsgravatar August 12, 2015 / 8:06 pm

    Playing? I’m not sure what you mean. There’s a war going on. Are you playing at war? I’m in Azeroth (or Draenor) always. You can never tell when you might be needed. If Gul’dan was spotted and you weren’t there? You;d regret it.

  8. Dolnor August 13, 2015 / 1:56 am

    I work until 11pm so I game from 12midnight to 4:30am. Which works great since the gaming guild to which I belong, The Older Gamers, is Australian-based (although they have 54,000 members world-wide) and that is their prime-time for gaming.

    On the weekends I usually play Real Life so I am away from the computer! -)

    TQQdles™

  9. Telwyn August 13, 2015 / 3:35 am

    Three to four evenings a week (say 8-11pm) and the odd afternoon/evening at weekend when time permits. Real life stuff always takes precedence but we fill our free-time with online gaming these days, I rarely watch TV these days as a result. It’s not quite the “every free minute” days of when I first started playing WoW but I still clock about 16 hours a week across the two or three games I’m playing.

  10. Telwyn August 13, 2015 / 3:37 am

    Oh I should have mentioned my partner games as well, mostly the same games, so it’s very easy for me to set aside gaming time 🙂

  11. Trippin Ninja August 13, 2015 / 10:43 am

    I’m lucky enough to have a gaming spouse so I still get a good amount of hours in. It’s usually in 2-3 hour chunks at various times. My biggest blocks of time to game are early mornings on weekends. I like to set my alarm and get up around 8-9am on weekends so I can game uninterrupted for at least 4-5 hours maybe more.

  12. melbrankin August 16, 2015 / 4:04 am

    Monday and Wednesday I have tabletop so 3 hours of gaming then. As for computers my gaming starts after getting the kids to bed (8ish pm) and doing some book editing/art.

    This typically leaves me with an hour or so between 10 and 11pm.

    It took a long time to be at peace with gaming as a parent and sometimes I try and squeeze in a little too much and get tired and cranky!

    I am looking forward to seeing my kids join me in gaming, my oldest being 5 is a keen minecraft player and is keen to learn to read so he can play wizard101.

Leave a Reply

