WildStar: Breathlessly waiting for F2P

happy1I want those sunglasses.

The more that I look into the mega-patch coming with WildStar’s fall F2P switch, the more I genuinely can’t wait until it gets here. I was listening to a podcast last night last night while playing, and the hosts were detailing some of their discoveries on the PTR. After a long, dark night of dropping subscriptions and harsh criticism, it’s like seeing the first rays of a glorious dawn creep over the horizon. Can’t help but lift your spirits and give you hope.

What’s exciting me is just how much is being thrown in here: tons of new costumes, tons of new pets, daily rewards, attunement streamlining, AMP unlocks, challenge system overhaul, dungeon reorganizing, and loads more housing options. Heck, I’m even excited about the store, especially since WildStar is taking Trove’s approach of offering a second currency that can be obtained in-game to buy the same things in the shop.

happy2My attitude was also buoyed by a really good night of progress and loot. I spent a lot of my session exploring the uncovered bits of Malgrave and doing the odd quest, all while the RNG showered me with tons of great loot. I got a purple gun (with tanking stats, alas, but it was a nice gesture on behalf of the game), a really neat chest upgrade with a cool look, and an awesome punk headpiece. I made a new costume on the spot (right).

I’m level 48 and I think I’m getting to the end of Malgrave. I know I’ve overleveled it but I’m not going to leave until I’ve done everything.

I also continue to accumulate new decor for my house. Every time I log in I do my standard three Thayd challenges on two alts that I leave park there. I recently got a squicky totem and a cool chair (my house lacks comfy chairs), not to mention a few more dyes.

I keep looking wistfully at my Spellslinger, torn between wanting to keep pushing forward with my Engineer and playing an alt. Some day, I comfort myself.

Oh, here’s a weird thing I noticed last night: My Spellslinger’s pistols shrink in size when she holsters them on her butt. Like they go from these hand-cannons to dainty little pea-shooters. Weird.

6 thoughts on “WildStar: Breathlessly waiting for F2P

  1. wolfyseyes August 13, 2015 / 9:08 am

    I am also feeling the “contact high” of the PTR information. I don’t know that I’ll get my Drakeness Warrior to 50 before this patch hits….but I am having fun with the Dommie-side ride all the same.

  2. Wes M August 13, 2015 / 9:55 am

    I’m also looking forward to the f2p switch.
    I haven’t played at all yet but the temptation to pay the £12.99 for the game (plus 30days) grows daily now that some friends have already made the switch from WoW.

  3. Sunky August 13, 2015 / 3:13 pm

    What podcast was it.. I’ve been looking for a decent WS podcast!

  4. Vagrant Zero August 15, 2015 / 12:21 am

    The miniaturizing effect on your weapons largely happens because you’re (human) female. It used to be beyond horrific on female warriors as their gigantic greatsword would literally shrink into a shortsword when they sheathed it. Carbine finally fixed it in Drop 5, but yeah it’s meant to stop clipping. Frankly I’d rather deal with the clipping.

  5. Syp August 17, 2015 / 9:25 am

    Well I saw it on a Mordesh. Kind of wish they’d stay the same size and holster to the sides of the hips instead of the butt.

  6. Chestnut Stonebough (@ggchestnut) August 23, 2015 / 11:27 am

    @Sunky The three big WildStar podcasts are Strange Tales from Outer Space, Wildcast Podcast, and Geeks of Nexus. 🙂 They’re all really great folks and have great shows!

    @Syp Glad you’re having so much fun in WS! I love reading your posts on it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

